News 20 Oct 2018

South Australian Metcalfe and Mellross win in Port Adelaide

Race for AUS Supercross crown tightens following the penultimate round.

Image: Foremost Media.

Penrite Honda Racing’s Brett Metcalfe and DPH Motorsport Husqvarna’s Hayden Mellross have emerged victorious in Port Adelaide’s fourth round of the 2018 Australian Supercross Championship.

Marking the second Triple Crown event, in SX1 it was South Australian hero Metcalfe who was the class of the field to take out the overall ahead of teammate Justin Brayton and Jace Owen (Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing).

The opening final of three saw Luke Clout (KTM Motocross Racing Team) rebound from his crash scare last week to cross the line first, however a penalty for jumping under yellows saw him relegated three places, handing Penrite Honda’s defending champion Brayton the win from Owen and Dan Reardon (Yamaha).

Metcalfe captured a popular win in the second premier class final of the night, near six seconds ahead of Owen, as Clout took third. After running fourth through much of the race, Brayton went down and eventually crossed the line in eighth.

Final three saw Metcalfe go back-to-back to clinch the round win and narrow the gap to Brayton in the points, this time leading a resurgent Dylan Long (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) and Brayton across the finish, despite a late error from the defending champion.

In the point-standings Brayton still leads, now six ahead of Metcalfe with one round remaining, while Owen has climbed into third following the four regular rounds.

Image: Foremost Media.

Meanwhile, in SX2 there was no denying Mellross the round win in his first for DPH and Husqvarna, standing in the middle of the podium alongside internationals Jacob Hayes (Serco Yamaha) and Josh Osby (Raceline Pirelli KTM).

The opening final was won by Mellross, ahead of Hayes and Dylan Wills (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna), in a race that saw early leader Kyle Webster (Penrite CRF Honda Racing) go down twice and eventually card a 19th-place finish.

Final two saw Mellross ride to a comfortable victory to make it two from two to open his night, this time over three seconds up on Geelong victor Wilson Todd (Serco Yamaha) and Osby. Wills went down entering the whoops while challenging at the front, while Jay Wilson (Yamalube Yamaha) recovered to P8 after an early fall.

It was points-leader Wilson – who salvaged fourth overall for the weekend – who returned to the top in final three ahead of the super-consistent Mellross and Hayes. As a result Wilson still leads the championship, 11 points in front of Mellross, with Todd and Hayes tied for third.

Round three of the Junior Lites championship was won by a dominant Alex Larwood (Yamaha) with a clean-sweep of all three finals to take the overall ahead of Jai Walker (Husqvarna) and points-leader Denzel Woulfe (Yamaha).

The Junior 85s were taken out by Ryder Kingsford (Yamaha) via 1-2-1 results, topping final two winner Jack Mather (KTM) and Brad West (Kawasaki), who sits atop the championship table. The Yamaha YZ65 Cup race was won by Kayd Kingsford, from Jake Cannon and Auston Boyd.

The 2018 Australian Supercross Championship will conclude with the Monster Energy AUS-X Open Sydney at Qudos Bank Arena on 9-10 November, also marking the opening round of the inaugural two-stop S-X Open International Supercross FIM Oceania Championship.

Detailed results