News 13 Oct 2018

Brayton extends lead as Todd captures season-first win in Geelong

Yamaha's Wilson maintains SX2 points lead at GMHBA Stadium.

Image: Foremost Media.

Penrite Honda Racing’s Justin Brayton has extended his SX1 points advantage after claiming the overall win at Geelong’s third round of the Australian Supercross Championship, as Serco Yamaha’s Wilson Todd was triumphant in the SX2 category for the first time this season.

It was Brayton once again at the front of the SX1 field in main event one, storming to P1 from the get-go with Luke Clout (KTM Motocross Racing Team) and Brett Metcalfe trailing from the early stages. An error saw Clout drop to fourth, allowing Metcalfe and Dan Reardon (Yamaha) to complete positions two and three, as Lawson Bopping (Kawasaki) wound in fifth.

Clout led for the better half of main event two, although a crash on lap six saw him forced out of the encounter. Metcalfe capitalised to take a commanding win, as Brayton came from behind to seal second over Reardon. American Jace Owen (Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing) was fourth ahead of CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s Dylan Long.

Unstoppable Brayton dominated the third and final premier class main, crossing the line with a convincing 3.061s advantage over Metcalfe, who comfortably took home second. Reardon fended off Long for third right to the chequered flag, as Owen clinched onto fifth. On the overall podium it was Brayton, Metcalfe and Reardon.

Image: Foremost Media.

In the opening SX2 main, Aaron Tanti (Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing) hit the front early with Serco Yamaha’s Wilson Todd in tow. Dakota Alix (KTM Motocross Racing Team) shifted into third, however was quickly demoted as fellow American Jacob Hayes (Serco Yamaha) slotted into the position.

A crucial error from Tanti in the closing saw him drop to 13th, allowing Todd to capture victory over teammate Hayes, while Bradley Taft (Penrite Honda Racing), Alix and Jackson Richardson (CRF Penrite Honda Racing) locked out the top five.

In main event two, Alix took control in the early laps while being stalked by champion leader Jay Wilson (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), but it only lasted until the halfway point when the red-plate holder made his move stick, ultimately collecting the win. Taft was able snatch second as Alix settled for third, with positions four and five being awarded to Hayes and Hayden Mellross (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna).

Wilson took to the lead for greater portion of the final SX2 main before coming under attacked from Mellross in dying laps. The duo battled it out, but it was Mellross who made a welcomed return to the top step of the podium. Todd crossed the line in third trailed by Hayes and Richardson. Overall, it was Todd, Hayes and Wilson who stood on the overall podium.

Husqvarna-mounted Jai Walker took out top honours in the Junior Lites division with two race, being joined on the podium by Jake Cuka (Yamaha) and Denzel Woulfe (Yamaha), while 85cc category was taken out by Brad West (Kawasaki) with three race wins, followed by Jack Mather (KTM) and Ryder Kingsford (Yamaha). The Yamaha 65cc Cup saw Kayd Kingsford (Yamaha) top Seth Burchell (Yamaha) and Wil Carpenter (Yamaha).

The Australian Supercross Championship heads to Port Adelaide in South Australia next weekend for the penultimate stop of the five round series.

Detailed results