News 1 Oct 2018

Herlings dominates Imola as Prado's officially crowned MX2 champion

Mechanical DNF denies Australia's Lawrence of MX2 podium.

Source: Supplied.

Newly-crowned premier class champion and Red Bull KTM Factory Racing rider Jeffrey Herlings has dominated the final round of the 2018 MXGP World Championship in Imola, Italy, while teammate Jorge Prado was officially awarded the MX2 title.

Herlings proved why he’s champion, charging to a stellar 1-1 scorecard to cap off the season, defeating Honda HRC’s Tim Gajser and Monster Energy Kawasaki Factory Racing’s Clement Desalle, who were second and third respectively.

Positions four and five were awarded to Julien Lieber (Monster Energy Kawasaki Factory Racing) and Gautier Paulin (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing), while Australian Todd Waters (Team Honda Redmoto Assomotor) wound up in 17th overall.

In the MX2 category, champion Prado stood atop the podium after stringing together two commanding race wins, comfortably edging out Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing duo Thomas kjer Olsen and Thomas Covington.

Yamaha SM Action MC Migliori’s Michele Cervellin and STC Racing Husqvarna’s Henry Jacobi were fourth and fifth overall, as Aussie contender Hunter Lawrence (114 Motorsport Honda) was denied of a fairytale ending to his time in the world championship, suffering a mechanical DNF in race one before returning for second in the last encounter.

The Women’s Motocross World Championship was taken out by MXFONTA Racing Yamaha’s Kiara Fontanesi, who also took top honours at Imola ahead of Nancy Van De Ven (Yamaha) and Larissa Papenmeier (Suzuki).

Detailed results