Features 12 Aug 2018

Racefeed: 2018 MX Nationals Rd10 Coolum

Pro class updates direct from round 10 of the season in Queensland.

Post-race updates from the MX1 and MX2 classes at round 10 of the 2018 Pirelli MX Nationals, direct from Coolum in Queensland.

Image: Foremost Media.

Pirelli MX2 practice/qualifying (results only):
1. Kyle Webster 1m48.765s
2. Wilson Todd 1m49.950s
3. Richie Evans 1m50.418s
4. Hamish Harwood 1m50.841s
5. Jay Wilson 1m51.191s
6. Jayden Rykers 1m52.378s
7. Joel Evans 1m53.026s
8. Kaleb Barham 1m53.842s
9. Kale Makeham 1m54.188s
10. Aaron Tanti 1m54.416s
11. Jy Roberts 1m54.452s
12. Cooper Pozniak 1m55.236s
13. Cody Dyce 1m55.379s
14. Ricky Latimer 1m56.173s
15. Lochie Latimer 1m56.357s
16. Isaac Ferguson 1m56.613s
17. Tomas Ravenhorst 1m57.113s
18. Nicholas Murray 1m58.338s
19. Sam Pelz 2m01.274s
20. Glen Segeri 2m01.608s

Thor MX1 practice/qualifying (results only):
1. Mitch Evans 1m48.527s
2. Dean Ferris 1m49.012s
3. Caleb Ward 1m49.984s
4. Rhys Carter 1m53.028s
5. Luke Clout 1m53.066s
6. Brett Metcalfe 1m47.371s
7. Dylan Long 1m48.199s
8. Lachlan Davis 1m49.269s
9. Callum Norton 1m49.569s
10. Zak Small 1m50.559s
11. Charlie Creech 1m52.423s
12. Joben Baldwin 1m52.584s
13. David Birch 1m54.169s
14. James Alen 1m54.501s
15. Corey James 1m54.923s
16. Izak Maule 1m55.313s
17. Beau Dargel 1m55.511s
18. Joel Wightman 1m56.255s
19. Darcy Jones 1m56.691s
20. John Darroch 1m59.972s

Pirelli MX2 moto one:
Serco Yamaha’s Wilson Todd earned a maiden MX2 championship following a conservative ride to sixth position, as Jay Wilson (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) stormed to victory in the opening 30-minute plus one lap encounter. Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsport KTM) claimed hole-shot with Wilson and Richie Evans (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) in tow, although it was Wilson who stole the lead on lap two and never looked back. Penrite CRF Honda Racing’s Kyle Webster put in a heroic performance, closing in order leader Wilson before going down, however recovered to seal second ahead of Harwood, Evans and Jayden Rykers (Raceline Pirelli KTM). The top 10 was rounded out by newly-crowned champion Todd, Kaleb Barham (Husqvarna), Ricky Latimer (Ride Red Honda), Jy Roberts (Husqvarna) and Cooper Pozniak (Yamaha).

1. Jay Wilson
2. Kyle Webster
3. Hamish Harwood
4. Richie Evans
5. Jayden Rykers
6. Wilson Todd
7. Kaleb Barham
8. Ricky Latimer
9. Jy Roberts
10. Cooper Pozniak
11. Aaron Tanti
12. Cody Dyce
13. Kale Makeham
14. Tomas Ravenhorst
15. Sam Pelz
16. Nicholas Murray
17. Joel Phillips
18. Glen Segeri
19. Mathew McEntee
20. Brandon Gray

Thor MX1 moto one:
Three-time Australian motocross champion Dean Ferris (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) dominated the opening MX1 moto, lapping up to fifth position as he captured a 37.406s victory. Runner-up Mitch Evans (Raceline Pirelli KTM) led from the early stages with Luke Clout (KTM Motocross Racing Team) latching on, however the number four dropped a number positions as the moto rolled on. A spirited ride from Caleb Ward (Davey Motorsport Husqvarna) saw him overcome Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Honda Racing) with two laps to go for third, as Metcalfe’s season woes continued with a another mechanical failure forcing him out of the race on the final lap. Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing’s Rhys Carter wound up in fourth ahead of Callum Norton (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna), as the top 10 was rounded out by Clout, Zak Small (Husqvarna), Dylan Long (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Yamaha), Charlie Creech (Honda) and Joben Baldwin (Yamaha).

1. Dean Ferris
2. Mitch Evans
3. Caleb Ward
4. Rhys Carter
5. Callum Norton
6. Luke Clout
7. Zak Small
8. Dylan Long
9. Charlie Creech
10. Joben Baldwin
11. David Birch
12. Lachlan Davis
13. Izak Maule
14. Beau Dargel
15. Calib best
16. James Alen
17. Bradley Ace
18. Thomas Hill
19. Corey James
20. Eddie Brown

Pirelli MX2 moto two:
Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing’s Aaron Tanti edged his way to the hole-shot in race two, however it was race one winner Wilson who stole the lead in the coming corners. It wasn’t long before Webster negotiated his way into the top spot, ultimately running away with a 8.404s advantage over Wilson. Harwood settled for third in a relatively tame race for the quarter-litre field, as champion Todd and Roberts concluded the first five. Fulfilling positions six through 10 was Joel Evans (Husqvarna), Barham, Pozniak, Tanti and Kale Makeham (Penrite CRF Honda Racing). Webster was granted the overall on countback ahead of Wilson and Harwood, while in the standings it was Todd, Harwood and Tanti.

1. Kyle Webster
2. Jay Wilson
3. Hamish Harwood
4. Wilson Todd
5. Jy Roberts
6. Joel Evans
7. Kaleb Barham
8. Cooper Pozniak
9. Aaron Tanti
10. Kale Makeham
11. Cody Dyce
12. Thomas Ravenhorst
13. Sam Pelz
14. Nicholas Murray
15. Mat McEntee
16. Joel Philips
17. Glen Segeri
18. Brandon Gray
19. Jack O’Callaghan
20. Bradley Rankmore

Thor MX1 moto two:
Clout shot-out to the lead with a mega hole-shot in the final moto of the day, although Evans quickly moved himself into P1 within a matter of corners. From outside of the top five, Ferris was leading the field in the opening stages and was unchallenged in his campaign that saw him wind up with a 34.356s advantage over a hard-charging Evans. A strong showing from Ward in third allowed him to capture third overall behind Evans and Ferris, as Metcalfe and Norton fell into positions four and five. Concluding the top 10 was Long, Clout, Carter, Small and Creech. In the standings it was Ferris, Evans and Clout.

1. Dean Ferris
2. Mitch Evans
3. Caleb Ward
4. Brett Metcalfe
5. Callum Norton
6. Dylan Long
7. Luke Clout
8. Rhys Carter
9. Zak Small
10. Charlie Creech
11. Joben Baldwin
12. James Alen
13. Izak Maule
14. Lachlan Davis
15. David Birch
16. Beau Dargel
17. Calib Best
18. Bradley Ace
19. Thomas Hill
20. Eddie Brown