News 12 Aug 2018

Malkiewicz crowned MXD champion at Coolum MX Nationals finale

Purvis victorious on the day as Rutledge earns Women's championship.

Image: Foremost Media.

Bulk Nutrients WBR Yamaha’s has earned the Pirelli MX Nationals MXD crown at Coolum’s 10th and final round of the series in Queensland as JCR Yamaha’s Maximus Purvis rode away with the overall win.

New Zealand’s Purvis charged to victory in the opening affair, defeating champion Malkiewicz by a comfortable 36.844s margin in the 12-lap stint.

KTM-mounted Mason Rowe wound up in third a further two seconds behind, while Hugh McKay (Bulk Nutrients) and Liam Walsh (KTM) completed the first five.

Purvis proved to be too good in the Coolum sand, once again dominating the second outing with a 15.864s advantage over McKay. An ultra-consistent Rowe was third ahead of Western Australian Mat Fabry (Yamaha) and Kawasaki’s Dylan Wood. Overall for the day was Purvis, McKay and Rowe, while in the standings Malkiewicz led McKay and Purvis in the title chase.

Image: Foremost Media.

In the Women’s category, Kawasaki’s Megan Rutledge emerged victorious on the day with a 1-1-3 scorecard, collecting the championship in the process after dominating at the opening round at Manjimup earlier in the year.

Western Australian Jess Moore (KTM) was second with a win to her name followed by Maddy Brown (Yamaha) in third – the duo finishing in that order in the series standings.

The second edition of the Yamaha 65cc Cup saw Jake Cannon reign supreme, a final moto victory granting him the overall, while he was joined on the podium by Kayd Kingsford and Seth Burchell.

Detailed results