News 11 Aug 2018

Evans, Webster and Malkiewicz fastest on Saturday at Coolum

Champions crowned in support categories on Saturday in Queensland.

Image: Foremost Media.

Rookie standout Mitch Evans has claimed the provisional pole position in Thor MX1 at Coolum’s final round of the 2018 Pirelli MX Nationals.

Raceline Pirelli KTM’s Evans stormed to a 1m43.538s lap-time on the Sunshine Coast of Queensland to set Saturday’s benchmark, ahead of tomorrow’s Super Pole qualifying session.

Behind Evans came newly-crowned three-time champion Dean Ferris (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy), 0.623s in arrears. Behind them, also making Super Pole will be Caleb Ward (Davey Motorsports Husqvarna), Kiwi Rhys Carter (Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing) and Luke Clout (KTM Motocross Racing Team).

Sixth was South Australian international Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Honda Racing), marginally missing out on a top five slot, as Dylan Long (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team), Lachlan Davis (Ride Red Honda), Zak Small (Husqvarna) and Charlie Creech (Honda) completed the top 10.

Image: Foremost Media.

In Pirelli MX2 it was Kyle Webster (Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing) who qualified quickest at 1m48.765s, a full second clear of points-leader Wilson Todd (Serco Yamaha), with Richie Evans (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsports KTM) and Jayden Rykers (Raceline Pirelli KTM) the top five.

Sixth came Joel Evans (Husqvarna), the top 10 filled by Kaleb Barham (Husqvarna), Jay Wilson (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) on the 2019 YZ250F in eighth, Kale Makeham (Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing) and Aaron Tanti (Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing).

Topping the Motul MXD class was championship leader Bailey Malkiewicz (Bulk Nutrients WBR Yamaha) with a 1m51.769s, ahead of Liam Walsh (Davey Motorsports KTM), Maximus Purvis (Altherm JCR Yamaha), Mat Fabry (Yamaha) and Mason Rowe (KTM).

Motos one and two of the YMF Womens were won by Meghan Rutledge (Kawasaki), capturing the first encounter ahead of Jessica Moore (KTM) and defending champion Maddy Brown (Yamaha), while in the second it was Rutledge who led Brown and Moore.

Victory in the Yamaha Rising Star Rookies went to Regan Duffy (KTM), joined on the podium by Noah Ferguson (KTM) and Levi Rogers (Yamaha). It was Duffy who also clinched the championship for 2018.

The Yamaha 125 Gold Cup was won by Cameron Taylor (Yamaha) ahead of Luke Davis (Yamaha) and Clay Kilvington (KTM), the title belonging to multiple national champion Taylor.

In the Yamaha Amateur Cup it was Joshua Livsey (Suzuki) who won ahead of Craig Bolton (KTM) and Mitchell Dark (Husqvarna). In the points, opening round winner Joshua Kilvington (KTM) was crowned with a fifth-place result overall today.

Race one of the Yamaha YZ65 Cup was on track again at Coolum, won by Kayd Kingsford from Jake Cannon and Seth Burchell. They will have two more races on Sunday.

Detailed results