News 5 Aug 2018

Ferris wraps up third MX Nationals crown with Gladstone victory

Metcalfe and MX1 rookie Ward round out the top three.

Image: Foremost Media.

CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team’s Dean Ferris has earned his third-consecutive Pirelli MX Nationals MX1 title today after dominating Gladstone’s penultimate round of the series.

A controlled victory in moto one saw Ferris crowned champion, sealing the title with three motos to spare. The number one was 3.195s ahead of a charging Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Honda Racing) across the finish, with Mitch Evans (Raceline Pirelli KTM) completing the podium in third.

While Ferris took charge at the front, Metcalfe put in a strong challenge for the moto’s duration, however wasn’t able to draw close enough to make a move in the latter stages. Evans was a comfortable third, followed by Caleb Ward (Davey Motorsports Husqvarna) and Dylan Long (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team).

Sixth came Kiwi Rhys Carter (Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing), edging a fast-starting Callum Norton in his first ride with DPH Husqvarna, while Luke Clout (KTM Motocross Racing Team) was P8 after a mid-moto mishap. Zak Small (Husqvarna) and Joben Baldwin (Yamaha) rounded out the top 10.

It was a dominant performance by newly-crowned triple premier class champion Ferris in MX1 moto two, powering to another hole-shot and accelerating away from the field. Ferris was virtually untouched today for a perfect round with the Super Pole, both race wins and the title, topping moto two by 9.434s ahead of ever-spectacular rookie Evans, who was later penalised for passing on a yellow flag, demoting him to fourth while granting Ward second position.

South Australian veteran Metcalfe was a lonely fourth this time around, with Long having a relatively uneventful day for fifth. Positions six through 10 were filled by Clout, Norton, Small, Corey James (KSF Ecstar Suzuki) and Baldwin.

Overall for the penultimate round of the championship it was Ferris who won, joined on the overall rostrum by Metcalfe and Ward. Next up, Coolum’s championship finals on the Sunshine Coast of Queensland next weekend between 11-12 August.

Detailed results