News 24 Jul 2018

Team Australia confirmed for Junior Motocross World Championship

A selection of 21 riders chosen to represent the country at Horsham.

Image: Jeremy Hammer (Foremost Media).

Motorcycling Australia (MA) has announced a 21-rider squad for the 2018 FIM Junior Motocross World Championship that’s slated to take place at Horsham in Victoria on 26 August.

Seven riders have been selected for each of the three categories from a shortlist totalling 46 youthful athletes, with additional wildcard opportunities available if the 40-entry limit isn’t exhausted in the respective classes.

Representing the country in the 125cc division will be Liam Andrews, Regan Duffy, Blake Fox, Dante Hyam, Jack Kukas, Bailey Malkiewicz and Korey McMahon, while the 85cc line-up will be completed by Ryan Alexanderson, Jett Burgess-Stevens, Jackson Camilleri, Ryder Kingsford, Deegan Mancinelli, Zac Watson and Brad West.

Australia’s 65cc entrant list includes a selection of talented rider, with Jet Alsop, Seth Burchell, Jack Deveson, Kayden Minear, Braden Plath, Seth Shackleton and Thomas Wood fulfilling the positions.

Team Australia has experienced multiple triumphs in the Junior Motocross World Championship over the last decade, Jay Wilson becoming the 85cc in 2009, while Caleb Grothues and Jett Lawrence were crowned champions in the 65cc class in 2012 and 2014 respectively.