News 15 Jul 2018

Tanti and Wills split MX2 overall victories at Ranch MX Nationals

Todd continues to control points lead with pair of podium finishes.

Image: Foremost Media.

Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing’s Aaron Tanti and DPH Motorsport Husqvarna’s Dylan Wills have split overall victories at Ranch MX’s seventh and eighth rounds of the Pirelli MX Nationals in Raymond Terrace, New South Wales.

Moto two of the Pirelli MX2 class this morning to complete round seven saw Kiwi Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsports KTM) take a wire-to-wire win, marking his first of the season. He edged out Tanti by just 0.655s, with Jay Wilson (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) directly behind him in P3.

Fourth marked another strong performance from Dylan Wills , as yesterday’s winner Wilson Todd (Serco Yamaha) had to settle for fifth this time out.

The top 10 was completed by Kyle Webster (Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing) in sixth following a mechanical in moto one, Kaleb Barham (Mladin Racing Husqvarna) who was also a non-finisher yesterday, Cody Dyce (Empire Motorsports Yamaha), Jayden Rykers (Raceline Pirelli KTM) and Kale Makeham (Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing).

Overall for the round with a 3-2 scorecard it was Tanti who took his second victory of the year, a point ahead of Harwood and championship leader Todd.

Round eight for each of the classes consist of shorter back-to-back motos and there was no denying Todd a commanding moto victory to commence the afternoon. Todd rode away on the opening lap and controlled the seven-lap race from there, going on to win with relative ease by 5.220s.

Wills managed a pass on Harwood in the final corners of the race for the runner-up position as they finished in that order, closely followed by Tanti and Wilson in formation. It was a stronger showing for Jy Roberts (Husqvarna) in moto three of the weekend, as Makeham, Dyce, Rykers and Richie Evans (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) were the top 10.

Following a five-minute break in between, the MX2 class was straight back on track for their final moto, in which Wills sprinted to a deserved 2.808s race win and clinched the overall in the process. It was a popular result for the New South Welshman, holding Todd at bay for the duration and delivering in what had been a turbulent week for his DPH Motorsport crew.

The action was once again tight-knit toward the head of the pack, with Tanti improving to third, followed by Wilson. It was the best ride we’ve seen from Evans in some time for fifth, as Dyce, Harwood, Rykers, Makeham and Cooper Pozniak (Yamaha) completed the top 10.

Overall for round eight it was Wills who came out on top, joined on the rostrum by the ever-consistent pair of Todd and Tanti. The MX Nationals will now head to Gladstone in Queensland for the penultimate round of the series 5 August.

Detailed results