News 14 Jul 2018

Ferris and Todd extend in opening Ranch MX motos

MXD race win from Malkiewicz completes perfect day for Yamaha.

Image: Foremost Media.

CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team’s Dean Ferris took the opening moto victory in Ranch MX’s seventh round of the 2018 Pirelli MX Nationals this afternoon.

The reigning two-time Thor MX1 champion stretched his series lead despite qualifying in sixth position, defeating Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Honda Racing) and rookie Mitch Evans (Raceline Pirelli KTM).

It was a controlled race from the front for Ferris, withstanding the pressure of Evans – who was a late faller from P2 – and the fast-finishing Metcalfe for much of the moto. Completing the top five was Luke Clout (KTM Motocross Racing Team) and Kiwi Rhys Carter (Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing).

After claiming the Raceline Super Pole earlier this morning, KTM Motocross Racing Team’s Kirk Gibbs crashed out in the opening stages, immediately attended to by the Racesafe Medical Team.

In the Pirelli MX2 division it was points-leader Wilson Todd (Serco Yamaha) who dominated the duration, winning ahead of the in-form Dylan Wills (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna) and Aaron Tanti (Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing).

Tanti benefited from a heavy crash by defending champion Egan Mastin (KTM Motocross Racing Team) in the closing laps, which also handed Jayden Rykers (Raceline Pirelli KTM) and New Zealander Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsports KTM) top five results.

Moto one of the Motul MXD class was won by Bailey Malkiewicz (WBR Bulk Nutrients Yamaha), ahead of early race leader Jye Dickson (KTM) and Rhys Budd (Honda). The top five results were filled by Riley Dukes (Husqvarna) and Maximus Purvis (Yamaha).

The first-ever YZ65 Cup race was won by Michael Jones, topping the all-Yamaha field and joined on the podium by Nate Thompson and Hixson McInnes. As for the Yamaha 125 Gold Cup, Ryan Butler won moto one from Geoff Braico and Jack Foley, as Cameron Taylor won the second ahead of Butler and Braico.

Detailed results