News 6 Jul 2018

Provisional 2019 MXGP World Championship calendar revealed

Assen to host 2019 Motocross of Nations in The Netherlands.

Source: Supplied.

Youthstream, the promoter of the MXGP World Championship, as unveiled a first-look at the 2019 calendar for the prestigious series, along with the hosting venue of the Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations (MXoN).

The season opening venue has yet to be announced but will take place towards the end of February and will be followed by MXGP’s return to Argentina. After the early fly away trip MXGP will return to Great Britain’s Matterly Basin circuit, head straight to Valkenswaard for the MXGP of the Netherlands, then continue south to the MXGP of Trentino at Pietramurata.

The teams will then prepare for the second fly away trip with back to back races in the massive Asian market at the MXGP of Hong Kong and the MXGP of China on Wednesday the 1 May. Marking its third-successive year on the calendar is the MXGP of Russia at Orlyonok along the coast of the Black Sea.

From Russia the championship will return to the West for the MXGP of Latvia, Germany, France and Lombardia. After nearly two months in Europe MXGP will then set sail for Indonesia’s Pangkal Pinang and Semarang for the MXGP of Indonesia and Asia respectively.

Continuing back into Europe the series will make its way to the ever familiar MXGP of Czech Republic in Loket and the MXGP of Belgium in Lommel before heading to the MXGP of Turkey in Afyonkarahisar.

The final three rounds to complete the 20 round season will be the MXGP of Switzerland in Frauenfeld-Gachnang, the MXGP of Portugal in Agueda, and the MXGP of Italy at Imola hosting the season finale for its second year in a row.

The Dutch community will not only see the MXGP of The Netherlands in 2019, but also the return of the biggest event of the year to European soil, the MXoN, in Assen at the famed TT circuit on the 29 September.

Provisional 2019 MXGP World Championship calendar:
Rd1 – 24 February – TBA
Rd2 – 10 March – TBA, Argentina
Rd3 – 24 March – Matterley Basin, Great Britain
Rd4 – 31 March – Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
Rd5 – 7 April – Trentino, Italy
Rd6 – 21 April – Hong Kong
Rd7 – 1 May – Shanghai, China
Rd8 – 12 May – Orlyonok, Russia
Rd9 – 26 May – Kegums, Latvia
Rd10 – 2 June – Teutschenthal, Germany
Rd11 – 16 June – TBA, France
Rd12 – 23 June – TBA, Lombardia
Rd13 – 7 July – Pangkal Pinang, Indonesia
Rd14 – 14 July – Semarang, Indonesia
Rd15 – 28 July – Loket, Czech Republic
Rd16 – 4 August – Lommel, Belgium
Rd17 – 18 August – Frauenfeld, Switzerland
Rd18 – 1 September – Afyonkarahisar, Turkey
Rd19 – 15 September – Agueda, Portugal
Rd20 – 22 September – Imola, Italy