Features 1 Jul 2018

Racefeed: 2018 MX Nationals Rd6 Conondale

Pro class updates direct from round six of the season in Queensland.

Post-race updates from the MX1 and MX2 classes at round six of the 2018 Pirelli MX Nationals, direct from Conondale in Queensland.

Image: Foremost Media.

Pirelli MX2 practice/qualifying (results only):
1. Wilson Todd 2m13.928s
2. Aaron Tanti 2m14.873s
3. Jay Wilson 2m16.166s
4. Hamish Harwood 2m32.522s
5. Kale Makeham 2m17.925s
6. Dylan Wills 2m29.575s
7. Jayden Rykers 3m17.851s
8. Kyle Webster 2m35.107s
9. Egan Mastin 2m18.603s
10. Richie Evans 2m41.646s
11. Kaleb Barham 2m19.720s
12. Joel Evans 2m21.472s
13. Cooper Pozniak 2m19.620s
14. Cody Dyce 2m41.908s
15. Isaac Ferguson 2m20.357s
16. Jesse Madden 2m20.935s
17. Ricky Latimer 2m20.508s
18. Jy Roberts 2m22.944s
19. Tomas Ravenhorst 2m22.858s
20. Lochie Latimer 2m19.527s

Thor MX1 practice/qualifying/Super Pole (results only):
1. Kirk Gibbs 2m10.037s
2. Mitch Evans 2m10.532s
3. Dean Ferris 2m10.806s
4. Luke Clout 2m10.872s
5. Dylan Long 2m12.401s
6. Brett Metcalfe 2m12.643s
7. Jesse Dobson 2m15.624s
8. Kade Mosig 2m14.969s
9. Rhys Carter 2m54.983s
10. Caleb Ward 2m13.061s
11. Connor Tierney 2m33.521s
12. Corey James 2m33.254s
13. Joel Wightman 2m30.603s
14. Lachlan Davis 2m30.030s
15. Zak Small 2m24.665s
16. Robbie Marshall 2m18.944s
17. Keiron Hall 2m34.700s
18. Joel Green 2m22.707s
19. Izak Maule 2m46.178s
20. Darcy Jones 3m04.442s

Pirelli MX2 moto one:
Serco Yamaha rider and MX2 points leader Wilson Todd stormed to the hole-shot in moto one, although Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing’s Aaron Tanti stole the lead just moments later. Tanti and Todd duelled in the following laps with Jay Wilson (GYTR Yamalube Yamaha) in tow, although the former champion would make a mistake on lap five, losing considerable ground on the leaders. A front-end washout on lap six from Tanti demoted him to second, allowing Todd ride away with an incredible 14.833s victory over Tanti. Wilson held on for third ahead of Dylan Wills (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna) and Kyle Webster (Penrite CRF Honda Racing), while top 10 was rounded out by Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsport KTM), Richie Evans (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), Jy Roberts (Husqvarna), Egan Mastin (KTM Motocross Racing Team) and Ricky Latimer (Ride Red Honda).

1. Wilson Todd
2. Aaron Tanti
3. Jay Wilson
4. Dylan Wills
5. Kyle Webster
6. Hamish Harwood
7. Richie Evans
8. Jy Roberts
9. Egan Mastin
10. Ricky Latimer
11. Kale Makeham
12. Cody Dyce
13. Cooper Pozniak
14. Joel Evans
15. Lochie Latimer
16. Isaac Ferguson
17. Tomas Ravenhorst
18. Jesse Madden
19. Damien Harrison
20. Lachlan Wilson

Thor MX1 moto one:
KTM Motocross Racing Team’s Luke Clout stormed to the lead as the premier class returned to action in race one, leading youthful talents Dylan Long (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team) and Mitch Evans (Raceline Pirelli KTM). Points-leader Dean Ferris (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team) quickly worked his from outside of the top five, moving into the lead by lap three. Kade Mosig (DPH Motorsport Husqvarna) shifted into second, capitalising on a mistake from Clout, while in the end it was Ferris, Mosig, Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Honda Racing), Evans and Clout who rounded out the first five. The top 10 was completed by Rhys Carter (Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing), Caleb Ward (Davey Motorsport Husqvarna), Long, Jesse Dobson (KSF Ecstar Suzuki) and Connor Tierney (Yamaha). A notable DNF was KTM Motocross Racing Team’s Kirk Gibbs, who pulled in during the dying laps.

1. Dean Ferris
2. Kade Mosig
3. Brett Metcalfe
4. Mitch Evans
5. Luke Clout
6. Rhys Carter
7. Caleb Ward
8. Dylan Long
9. Jesse Dobson
10. Connor Tierney
11. Robbie Marshall
12. Keiron Hall
13. Joel Wightman
14. Zak Small
15. Corey James
16. Lachlan Davis
17. Joel Green
18. Beau Dargel
19. Charlie Creech
20. Izak Maule

Pirelli MX2 moto two:
In race two, it was Webster and Tanti who fought for the hole-shot, Webster with the advantage in turn two, although a return serve from Tanti saw him controlling the field as they exited the corner. Todd made quick work of Webster before pouncing on Tanti, securing the lead on lap two before capturing a thrilling 9.540s victory, crediting him the overall. Tanti wound up second ahead of Webster, Harwood and Wills, as the top 10 was rounded out by Mastin, Evans, Makeham, Cody Dyce (Empire Motorsports Yamaha) and Jayden Rykers (Raceline Pirelli KTM). Jay Wilson held down a top 10 placing for much of the race before an error relegated him down the field. Overall it was Todd – who continues to control the championship – Tanti and Webster.

1. Wilson Todd
2. Aaron Tanti
3. Kyle Webster
4. Hamish Harwood
5. Dylan Wills
6. Egan Mastin
7. Richie Evans
8. Kale Makeham
9. Cody Dyce
10. Jayden Rykers
11. Tomas Ravenhorst
12. Jay Wilson
13. Kaleb Barham
14. Jesse Madden
15. Isaac Ferguson
16. Cooper Pozniak
17. Lochie Latimer
18. Ricky Latimer
19. Jy Roberts
20 . Sam Pelz

Thor MX1 moto two:
Evans rocketed to the hole-shot in race two, however it was Mosig who led the field as they fired up the first hill. Clout quickly responded in the opening turns, moving his way by Mosig before later handing back the position. Ferris navigated his way back from a poor start and ultimately stole the lead from Mosig on lap eight, meanwhile a mistake from Clout saw Metcalfe briefly go down. It didn’t deter Metty, who rebounded and charged his way into second, finishing just 1.058s shy of eventual winer Ferris. A late moto battle between Clout and Ward saw the duo get by Mosig, as the top 10 was concluded by Evans, Carter, Tierney, Robbie Marshall (Honda) and Keiron Hall (Yamaha). Gibbs was absent following his race one DNF. Overall it was championship leader Ferris followed by Metcalfe and Mosig.

1. Dean Ferris
2. Brett Metcalfe
3. Luke Clout
4. Caleb Ward
5. Kade Mosig
6. Mitch Evans
7. Rhys Carter
8. Connor Tierney
9. Robbie Marshall
10. Keiron Hall
11. Zak Small
12. Joel Wightman
13. Lachlan Davis
14. Beau Dargel
15. Charlie Creech
16. Izak Maule
17. Joel Green
18. Calib Best
19. Darcy Jones
20. Corey James