News 18 Jun 2018

Cairoli capitalises with perfect 1-1 scorecard at Ottobiano MXGP

Australians Waters and Lawrence finish 22nd and 12th in respective classes.

Source: Supplied.

Reigning MXGP world champion Antonio Cairoli (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) has taken advantage of the absence of points leader Jeffrey Herlings (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) at Ottobiano’s 11th round, gaining a full 50 points in the title hunt.

Cairoli went 1-1 in front of a home Italian crowd, edging out Gautier Paulin (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) and Max Anstie (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing), who were second and third respectively after tying on points.

Former world champion Tim Gajser (Honda HRC) narrowly missed the podium by one point ahead of Romain Fabvre (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing), while Australian Todd Waters (Honda HRC) wound up 22nd on return from a collarbone injury.

In the MX2 category, is was a commanding display from Jorge Prado (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing), who exited the weekend with the overall win to his name.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Thomas Covington wound up second overall followed by points leader Pauls Jonass (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) in third, while it was Thomas Kjer Olsen (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) and Ben Watson (Kemea Yamaha Official MX2) who concluded the top five. Aussie Hunter Lawrence (114 Motorsport Honda) was 12th overall with 11-12 moto scores.

In the Women’s Motocross World Championship, Yamaha’s Nancy van de Ven broke through for victory, defeating Kiara Fontanesi (Yamaha) and New Zealand’s Courtney Duncan (Yamaha), who still leads the championship by 21 points.

It was an incredible weekend for 14-year-old Australian Jett Lawrence in the European Motocross Championship, earning his first EMX250 race win that ultimately credited him third overall. Countryman Caleb Grothues failed to transfer from the LCQ, cutting his weekend short with the ASTES4-TESAR Yamaha Official outfit.

The next round on the MXGP schedule is slated for 1 July at Pangkal Pinang in Indonesia.

Detailed results