News 11 May 2018

Team Australia revealed for junior world championship in Horsham

A selection of 21 riders to be chosen from 46 shortlisted athletes.

Image: Jeremy Hammer (Foremost Media).

Motorcycling Australia has revealed the shortlist of riders that will be in-line to represent the country at the 2018 FIM Junior Motocross World Championship in Horsham, Victoria, on 26 August.

A selection of 46 youthful athletes from across the country will eventually be cut down to 21, with Australia granted seven entrants per class being the host country – a first for the nation.

Team Australia manager Mark Willingham commented: “This year being a local championship, we are able to select a lot more riders for the squad. It’s going to be interesting to see how the dynamic works with a large group of riders. The host nation is allowed sevn riders per class and there may be opportunities to include wildcards after entries close, should there be enough spaces.

“We will have a training camp, so they have an opportunity to be trained and coached on the Horsham track on 14-15 of July. We will then have to select the Australian Team soon after. This will be my fifth year as team manager and I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to get involved, as it is a local event in Australia.”

Australia has seen three world champions crowned in the past decade, including former national MX2 champion Jay Wilson and European motocross regulars Caleb Grothues and Jett Lawrence.

Angus Pearce
Braden Plath
Deacon Paice
Jack Deveson
Jake Cannon
Jet Alsop
Kayden Minear
Kayd Kingsford
Koby Hantis
Ky Woods
Liam Owens
Seth Burchell
Seth Shackleton
Thomas Wood
Ty Sharp

Brad West
Cambell Williams
Charli Cannon
Connor Towill
Deegan Mancinelli
Jack Mather
Jackson Camilleri
Jesse Holding
Jasper Moon
Jett Burgess-Stevens
Jett Kipps
Mason Hills
Ryan Alexanderson
Ryder Kingsford
Ty Kean
Zac Watson

Alex Larwood
Bailey Malkiewicz
Blake Fox
Caleb Clifton
Dante Hyam
Jack Kukas
John Bova
Korey McMahon
Liam Andrews
Mason Semmens
Mathew Fabry
Noah Ferguson
Regan Duffy
Ty Jones
Tyler Darby