News 16 Apr 2018

Portugal victory strengthens Herlings’ MXGP points lead

Prado dominates MX2 as Australia's Beaton earns incredible podium finish.

Source: Supplied.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings has strengthened his points lead in the 2018 MXGP World Championship, clinching his second-consecutive overall victory with a perfect 1-1 scorecard in Portugal, marking the fifth round of the series.

Herlings dominated proceedings, charging to two commanding victories over Red Bull KTM Factory Racing teammate Antonio Cairoli, who strung together a pair of seconds for the runner-up position in the overall results.

Third was credited to former world champion Tim Gasjer (Honda HRC), signifying his return to the podium after collecting 3-5 race results.

Finishing just shy of the podium was fellow former world champion Romain Febvre (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing), who went 5-4 for fourth, just ahead of Glenn Coldenhoff (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) in fifth.

Further solidifying Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s dominance in the world champion was Jorge Prado’s stellar performance in the MX2 category, storming to two convincing race victories, allowing him to significantly close the gap on teammate and points leader Pauls Jonass (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing).

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Thomas Kjer Olsen claimed second overall with 4-2 race results, besting Australian Jed Beaton (F&H Racing Kawasaki), who earned an incredible second-career podium after putting together a 3-4 scorecard.

Fourth was credited to Kemea Yamaha Official MX Team’s Ben Watson, while the top five was rounded out by reigning champion and current points leader Jonass, who holds a 14-point advantage over Prado. Australian Hunter Lawrence (Team Honda 114 Motorsports) was absent from the Portugal round as he continues to recover from a hand injury.

In the WMX division, New Zealand ace Courtney Duncan stoled the championship lead as she raced to victory ahead of Larissa Papenmeier (Suzuki) and Nancy Van De Ven (Yamaha), as Australia’s Emma Milesevic (Yamaha) wound up 17th overall. The next stop on the MXGP World Championship calendar is scheduled for 1 May at Orlyonok in Russia.