News 27 Mar 2018

Two-wheel stars honoured in Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame

Motorcycle racing royalty inducted in Melbourne-based 2018 gala.

Image: Supplied.

A selection of motorcycle racing’s finest were inducted into the Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame on Friday evening in Melbourne, including the elevation of five-time world champion Mick Doohan to Legend status.

Doohan was initially inducted in 2016 and now joins Sir Jack Brabham as a Legend in the Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame, as Mat Mladin, Jeremy Burgess, Ken Kavanagh, William Robert Sanders, Aub Lawson, Frank Arthur and Gary Flood were also inducted.

Mladin is a former national and seven-time American Superbike champion, also contesting a season with Cagiva in 500GP during 1993, while renowned grand prix crew chief Burgess has been integral in the careers of Wayne Gardner, Mick Doohan and Valentino Rossi.

Kavanagh is the first Australian to win a grand prix motorcycle race, Sanders was a multi-time Australian champion and successful international speedway racer, as was Lawson in the 1940s, ’50s and ’60s. Arthur was recognised as a speedway rider and promoter, with Flood converting a speedway career to motocross for a tally of eight national championships.