News 21 Feb 2018

MX Nationals announces new naming partner for 2018 and 2019

MX Nationals press release:

Williams Event Management, the Series Promoter of the MX Nationals, is excited to reveal that the 2018 and 2019 series will have Pirelli Tyres as the official naming sponsor of the championship, becoming the Pirelli MX Nationals.

Link International which are the importers and distributers of Pirelli Tyres has been a partner of the MX Nationals since 2001, and have always supported Motocross at all levels and continue to do so. Pirelli Tyres has also been the Official Tyre of the MX Nationals since 2009.

Link International’s Marketing Manager Mark Kelly, shared his thoughts on the company’s decision to increase in support of the series, and says he’s proud that Pirelli Tyres will be taking on the naming rights to Australia’s National Motocross Championship.

“We have enjoyed our longstanding and strong relationship with Williams Event Management and the MX Nationals – the series is fundamental to Australian Motocross and the development of the riders and sport,” Kelly shared.

“We are very proud to have Pirelli as the naming rights partner for the series, and look forward to working with the championship and riders who choose to ride on our Pirelli Scorpion MX Tyres throughout the season”.

“We will also have available the new Scorpion MX32 Mid-Hard tyre which has been developed with MXGP and AMA supercross riders. This new Pirelli Scorpion MX32 Mid Hard offers the best performance over a large range of mid and hard surfaces while the large block size increases the contact patch to improve grip and durability and modified side blocks featuring ‘dimples’ increase lean angle, grip and stability.”

Williams Event Management’s Managing Director Kevin Williams also made comment on the new partnership.

“We are excited for the 2018 championship series,” Williams shared.

“We have a few special plans that will be announced in the coming weeks, and we are very excited to extend our partnership with Link International and in particular Pirelli Tyres.”

The 2018 Pirelli MX Nationals Championship Series will commence on Sunday April 15 at the Newry Motocross Track.

The 2018 series will see ten rounds for MX1, MX2 and MXD, these round will be conducted on eight weekends with two rounds being double headers.

Round 1 Newry VIC Sunday April 15th
Round 2 Appin NSW Sunday April 29th
Round 3 Wonthaggi VIC Saturday May 19th
Round 4 Wonthaggi VIC Sunday May 20th
Round 5 Murray Bridge SA Sunday May 27th
Round 6 Conondale QLD Sunday July 1st
Round 7 Maitland NSW Saturday July 14th
Round 8 Maitland NSW Sunday July 15th
Round 9 Gladstone QLD Sunday August 5th
Round 10 Coolum QLD Saturday 11th & Sunday 12th August

For more information on the 2018 Pirelli MX Nationals, head to the series’ official website,