News 7 Feb 2018

Australian contingent podium in NZ motocross opener

Third overall for both Wilson and Gibbs as season starts at Taranaki.

Image: Ethan Martin.

The opening round of the 2018 New Zealand Motocross Championship saw Australian duo Jay Wilson and Kirk Gibbs claim an important haul of championship points at Taranaki over the weekend.

Altherm JCR Yamaha’s Wilson, who is reunited with the team after winning the NZ crown in 2015, made his return to the MX2 championship and was third overall.

After finishing eighth in the opening encounter, Wilson rebounded for third in moto two and second in moto three for third overall. He joined locals Hamish Harwood (KTM) and Brad Groombridge (Suzuki) on the podium.

In MX1, CML KTM Racing-mounted Kirk Gibbs also gradually climbed the order as the first round went on, finishing fourth in race one, then going third in race two and second in the final outing. That placed him third overall behind Kayne Lamont (Altherm JCR Yamaha) and reigning champion Cody Cooper (Honda Racing).

Yet another Australian to feature on the podium in New Plymouth was Mason Semmens (CML KTM Racing), standing second on the 125cc overall podium behind Maximus Purvis (Altherm JCR Yamaha) after winning the final moto.

Round two of the four-round 2018 New Zealand Motocross Championship will take place on 25 February at Rotorua.