News 29 Jan 2018

Venues on 2018 MX Nationals calendar finalised

Multiple new tracks to appear throughout eight-event series.

Image: Simon Makker.

Series promoter Williams Event Management (WEM) has revealed the tracks that will feature on the 2018 MX Nationals calendar, with 10 rounds to be staged over eight weekends this season.

As confirmed last October, the championship will scale back to eight events this year, but maintains a total of 10 rounds with double-headers to be held at Wonthaggi and Maitland.

The championship will commence at Newry in Victoria on 15 April before travelling to Appin, New South Wales, for round two on 29 April. Rounds three and four are set for Wonthaggi, Victoria, on 19-20 May in what will be the first of two double-header weekends. The first half of the season concludes with Murray Bridge in South Australia on 27 May.

Following the month of June off, the series resumes on 1 July at Conondale, Queensland, then rounds seven and eight will mark the second double-header format at Maitland in New South Wales. From there the final two rounds will take place in Queensland, as Gladstone’s contested on 5 August, directly followed by the annual Coolum finals on 11-12 August.

2018 MX Nationals calendar:
Rd1 – 15 April – Newry, VIC
Rd2 – 29 April – Appin, NSW
Rds 3-4 – 19-20 May – Wonthaggi, VIC
Rd5 – 27 May – Murray Bridge, SA
Rd6 – 1 July – Conondale, QLD
Rds 7-8 – 14-15 July – Maitland, NSW
Rd9 – 5 August – Gladstone, QLD
Rd10 – 11-12 August – Coolum, QLD