News 20 Dec 2017

Crawford reinstated as Jimboomba AUS Supercross winner

Post-event appeal declared a success by Motorcycling Australia.

Image: Foremost Media.

Queenslander Nathan Crawford has been reinstated as the winner of Jimboomba X Stadium’s final round of the 2017 Australian Supercross Championship.

Crawford crossed the line first at the conclusion of the rain-soaked SX1 main event, but was demoted to third following a protest from Wilson Coolair Motul Suzuki. He’s been adamant all along that he deserved victory.

An off-track excursion on the final lap was the cause of the confusion, however an appeal from Crawford following his penalisation has now been declared successful by Motorcycling Australia (MA). He won ahead of Nick Schmidt (Wilson Coolair Motul Suzuki) and Kade Mosig (DPH Motorsport Yamaha).

“From the night I was pretty confident in this whole process that I’d done the right thing and that it would have worked out in my favour,” Crawford told “Thankfully it did and I was stoked, just so happy. I would have to say that would be the highlight of my whole career – to be the only Australian to win a round this year. It’s massive for me and I’m stoked with it.”

According to MA, the basis for the decision below stems from Chapter 7 of the GCRs and in particular Rule, which provides for penalties where a rider’s machine has left the track and thereby an advantage has been gained.

Evidence shows Crawford, when leading towards the end of the race, left the track inadvertently for a few seconds, slowing up with his hand in acknowledgement of what had happened. He then rejoined the race and eventually crossed the finish line in first position, without gaining any advantage.

As a result of his reinstatement, Crawford became the lone Australian to win a 450 class final this season and moved from sixth to fourth in the final SX1 championship standings in what was a successful rookie campaign.