News 18 Nov 2017

Richardson defends SX2 title as Wilson wins Jimboomba

Reigning champion prevails for Serco Yamaha in rain-lashed final round.

Image: Jeremy Hammer (Foremost Media).

Queenslander Jackson Richardson has made it consecutive SX2 titles in the 2017 Australian Supercross Championship for Serco Yamaha at Jimboomba, Queensland, in the final round won by Jay Wilson (Raceline Pirelli KTM).

Entering the final round trailing points leader Richardson by five points, Wilson Todd (DPH Motorsport Yamaha) got his evening off to a flying start by dominating the opening SX2 heat in wet, difficult conditions.

His winning margin following seven laps was 12.905s from Jesse Madden (KSF Racing Husqvarna), who has looked solid all day in the mud, followed by Lochie Latimer (Yamaha) and Chris Blose (Penrite Honda Racing) after he recovered from a crash in the second turn.

After qualifying quickest in class this afternoon, the second of the SX2 heats was all Wilson, winning by over 11 seconds – less than a week following his confidence-inspiring AUS-X Open podium – from defending champion Richardson, who was in turn almost a minute ahead of Dylan Wills (Dyson Motorsports Husqvarna).

When the gates dropped for the title-deciding SX2 final – reduced to 10 laps because of the diabolical track conditions – it was Wilson who stormed to the front early and from there he was never headed.

The 2015 outdoor champion established himself in the lead by stretching a significant advantage in the early laps, before going on to win by 51.291s at race’s end. It was a special result for Wilson that sealed him third in the standings, tying on points with runner-up Todd.

Fourth tonight was enough for back-to-back champion Richardson to successfully defend the 250 class title despite remaining winless this season, capitalising on his remarkably consistent run across the six rounds.

Runner-up at Jimboomba was Blose, who made it three podiums from three starts on-board the CRF250R in place of Gavin Faith, while a gritty Wills rounded out the podium in P3. Fifth was a solid result for Wilson’s Raceline Pirelli KTM teammate Morgan Fogarty, the newcomer taking position ahead of Sutherland and title-challenger Todd.

The latter went down on the opening lap and never was able to recover, but only just managed to hold onto second in the standings on count-back ahead of the resurgent Wilson.

In the Junior Lites it was Tyler Darby (Honda) who won all three races to capture the title, winning overall ahead of Joel Cigliano (Kawasaki) and Jake Cuka (Yamaha). The 85/150 Juniors saw Brodie Connolly (KTM) won the round ahead of Zach Watson and Jake Kowal (KTM). Fourth was enough for Blake Fox (KTM) to take home the series.