News 18 Sep 2017

Jonass crowned MX2 champion as Lawrence and Beaton podium

Herlings and Covington secure overall victories at France's MXGP finale.

Source: Supplied.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Pauls Jonass has captured the 2017 MX2 World Championship at the final round of the series in France, while Australians Hunter Lawrence (Suzuki World MX2) and Jed Beaton (Honda HRC MX2) both landed on the podium to complete the season.

In the premier MXGP division, Jeffrey Herlings (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) lodged his third-consecutive overall win in the challenging conditions, recording a 3-1 scorecard to level on points with Tim Gajser (Honda HRC) for the top spot.

The 2016 world champion won the opening moto, lapping up to sixth, although with a third in the second outing, he was credited the runner-up spot on count back. Rounding out the podium in third was an impressive performance from Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Max Anstie, who went 4-2 for the day.

The top five was completed by Romain Febvre (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing) and Gautier Paulin (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) in fourth and fifth respectively, as newly-crowned nine-time world champion Antonio Cairoli signed off with a 15th place finish as he played it safe on the wet and muddy circuit.

In MX2, it was American Thomas Covington (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) who topped the class with a stellar 1-2 scorecard, while Aussies Lawrence and Beaton closed out the top three.

It was a brilliant performance from Lawrence as he recorded a 4-1 results sheet, earning his career-first moto victory, while Beaton landed on the podium after racing to 3-4 finishes in just his fourth grand prix.

Jeremy Seewer (Suzuki World MX2) was fourth overall to finish runner-up in the standings, with the freshly appointed champion Jonass wrapping up the title with fifth overall on the day.

In the Women’s category, Kiara Fontanesi (Yamaha) claimed her fifth world title with a stunning overall win, she was joined on the podium by Livia Lancelot (Kawasaki) and Courtney Duncan (Yamaha) in the final instalment of the series.

Australian Maddy Brown (Yamaha) was 16th overall, followed by compatriots Emma Milesevic (Yamaha) and Courtney Whyte-Dennis (Yamaha) in 19th and 30th positions.

With the 2017 championship now at a close, a selection of riders will focus on the upcoming Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations at Matterley Basin, Great Britain, on 1 October.