News 10 Aug 2017

Australian MXoN team officially announced for 2017

Ferris, Lawrence and Gibbs confirmed for Matterley Basin.

Image: MXN.

Motorcycling Australia (MA) has announced Dean Ferris, Hunter Lawrence and Kirk Gibbs will form Team Australia for the 2017 Monster Energy Motocross of Nations (MXoN) at Matterley Basin, UK, on 1 October.

CDR Yamaha’s dominant national MX1 champion Ferris will lead the team in the MXGP category, while world championship regular Lawrence (Team Suzuki) has been confirmed for MX2 and Gibbs (KTM Motocross Racing Team) the Open class.

Ferris has featured as a mainstay of Team Australia throughout his international career and is confident a podium will be within reach, while Gibbs will make his first MXoN appearance after injury ruled him out on previous occasions and Lawrence will also make a high-profile addition this year.