News 9 Aug 2017

Defending MXoN champions Team France announce 2017 line-up

Paulin, Ferrandis and Febvre complete the three-man squad.

Source: Supplied.

Team France has revealed its line-up for the 2017 Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations (MXoN), where it will endeavour to defend its crown at Matterley Basin in the United Kingdom.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Gautier Paulin will head up the team in MX1, with the 2017 edition being the ninth-consecutive year that’s he’ll represent the country.

US-based Dylan Ferrandis (Yamalube Star Racing Yamaha) has been selected for MX2, while 2015 MXGP World Champion Romain Febvre (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing) will complete the line-up in the Open division.

Kemea Yamaha’s Benoit Pauturel, who was a member of the 2016 winning team, has been named as a replacement should one of the three riders be unable to contest the prestigious race.

Team France enters the 1 October event as the favourite after claiming the Chamberlain’s Trophy for the past three years, and with yet another strong three-man squad, they will be tough to beat. Australia’s team is yet to be revealed, although an announcement is anticipated in the coming weeks.