News 7 Aug 2017

Italy and Belgium announce MXoN line-ups at Lommel

Cairoli and Desalle to headline their respective teams at Matterley Basin.

Source: Supplied.

Italy and Belgium are the latest countries to reveal their line-ups for the 2017 Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations, with both making announcements at last weekend’s 14th round of the MXGP World Championship in Lommel, Belgium.

Italian team manager Thomas Traversini confirmed current MXGP points leader and Red Bull KTM Factory Racing rider Antonio Cairoli will spearhead the team in the premier category, while he’ll be joined by HRC MX2’s Michele Cervellin in MX2 and Team Honda Redmoto Assomotor’s Alessandro Lupino in the Open division.

It’s a capable team for the Italians, who will be looking to improve on their fifth place result from the 2016 event.

Former world champion Joel Smets will head up management for the Belgium team, who have a star-studded line-up consisting of Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team’s Clement Desalle in MXGP, LRT’s Julien Lieber in MX2, and Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team’s Jeremy Van Horebeek in the Open class.

Belgium were fourth in last year’s edition, with their last victory at the prestigious event being in 2013. With a strong three-man team, Belgium are slated to be strong contenders for the Chamberlains Trophy.

Team Australia is yet reveal who will represent the country, although it’s expected an announcement will be made in the coming weeks. The event is scheduled for 1 October, and will be hosted by the highly-popular Matterley Basin circuit in the United Kingdom.