News 6 Aug 2017

Milner completes perfect season with dual Outright victories at Omeo

Ruprecht and Snodgrass crowned champions alongside the KTM rider.

Image: John Pearson.

KTM Enduro Racing Team’s Daniel Milner has completed a perfect season in the Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC), securing two Outright victories at the final two rounds of the year in Omeo, Victoria, to be crowned the Outright – which is unofficially scored – and E2 champion.

Wil Ruprecht (Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Racing Team’s) and Lyndon Snodgraas (KTM Enduro Racing Team) were also crowned champions the E1 and E3 classes respectively.

On Saturday, Ruprecht raced to victory in the E1 category as he wrapped up the championship, while KTM-mounted Jack Simpson was runner-up, finishing just over 10 seconds behind the newly-crowned champion. Snap Fitness Yamaha Team’s Scott Keegan was third for the day followed by Brad Hardaker (Yamaha) and Bayley Burt.

Milner secured a convincing four-minute victory over Riley Graham (Yamaha) to clinch the title with a round to spare, as Andrew Wilksch (DSR Motul Pirelli Sherco Off-Road Team) concluded the podium in third. His teammate Justin Carafa and Mitch Harper (Husqvarna) were fourth and fifth respectively.

The E2 class also had its fair share of drama, as 2016 AORC Outright champion Daniel Sanders (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) returned home from Europe to contest the final rounds, however crashed out on the opening lap with a shoulder injury, bringing his weekend to a premature close.

Podium contender Josh Green (Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Racing Team) also suffered misfortune by running out of fuel, ultimately resulting in an early retirement from the day.

In E3, Snodgrass edged out title rival Lachlan Stanford (Husqvarna Enduro Racing), leaving the title to be decided in Sunday’s final round. Third went to Tom Mason (KTM), ahead of Jesse Lawton (KTM) and Anthony Venn (Husqvarna).

On Sunday it was Simpson who claimed victory in E1 to cap off the series, defeating Keegan and Hardaker by a narrow margin. Ruprecht was fourth, followed by Baylee Davies (Honda). The top three in the championship went to Ruprecht, Keegan and Simpson.

Milner continued his dominant form in E2, taking yet another victory to add to his perfect tally. Green turned his fortunes around to end the weekend in second, beating home Graham, Wilksch and Stefan Granquist (Yamaha). Milner was first in the championship ahead of Graham and Green.

With the E3 class coming down to the wire, it was Snodgrass who came out on top, defeating title rival Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team’s Lachlan Stanford. The pair tied on points in the championship, although Snodgrass was awarded the title on countback, which was determined by the last winner of the duo. Third for the day was Lawton ahead of Mason and Venn, while Mason was credited third in the championship.