News 30 Jul 2017

Racefeed: 2017 MX Nationals Rd8 Port Macquarie

Pro class updates direct from round eight in New South Wales.

Post-race updates from the MX1 and MX2 classes at round eight of the 2017 Motul MX Nationals, direct from Port Macquarie in New South Wales.

Image: MXN.

Motul MX2 qualifying (results):
1. Kyle Webster
2. Egan Mastin
3. Mitchell Evans
4. Dylan Wills
5. Wilson Todd
6. Hamish Harwood
7. Jay Wilson
8. Jayden Rykers
9. Connor Tierney
10. Richie Evans
11. Lochie Latimer
12. Joel Evans
13. Tomas Ravenhorst
14. Ricky Latimer
15. Jarrod Kelly
16. Zhane Dunlop
17. Lachlan Wilson
18. Jayden Conforto
19. Glen Segeri
20. Calib Best

Thor MX1 qualifying (results):
1. Dean Ferris
2. Luke Styke
3. Kirk Gibbs
4. Luke Clout
5. Brett Metcalfe
6. Todd Waters
7. Kade Mosig
8. Nathan Crawford
9. Joel Green
10. Hamish Harwood
11. Dylan Long
12. Kyle Peters
13. Brodie Sims
14. Lachlan Davis
15. James Alen
16. Izak Maule
17. Zak Small
18. Charlie Creech
19. Jesse Bishop
20. Mitchell Bowen

Motul MX2 moto one:
The opening MX2 moto of the round saw Egan Mastin (Davey Motorsports KTM) make his way through to victory, taking charge from early leader Wilson Todd (DPH Motorsport Yamaha) on lap nine and riding away to a 8.969s advantage from there. Todd comfortably held onto second, keeping pole-setter Kyle Webster (Penrite CRF Honda Racing) at bay, with Mitch Evans (Serco Yamaha) and Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsports KTM) completing the top five. Sixth was Raceline Pirelli KTM’s Jayden Rykers, with positions seven through 10 being held by Dylan Wills (KSF Racing Husqvarna), Richie Evans (Yamaha), Tomas Ravenhorst (Yamaha) and Jay Wilson (Raceline Pirelli KTM), who went down while in P2 on the opening lap and had to come back from 17th at the end of lap one.

1. Egan Mastin
2. Wilson Todd
3. Kyle Webster
4. Mitchell Evans
5. Hamish Harwood
6. Jayden Rykers
7. Dylan Wills
8. Richie Evans
9. Tomas Ravenhorst
10. Jay Wilson
11. Connor Tierney
12. Joel Evans
13. Lochie Latimer
14. Jarrod Kelly
15. Lachlan Wilson
16. Jayden Conforto
17. Zhane Dunlop
18. Glen Segeri
19. Darcy Cavanagh
20. Brandon Gray

Thor MX1 moto one:
After topping the GoPro Super Pole this morning, defending champion Dean Ferris (CDR Yamaha) dominated the opening moto at Port Macquarie, edging ahead of hole-shot winner Kade Mosig (DPH Motorsport Yamaha) and then maintaining his lead from there for a 8.022s victory. Mosig remained second from there for a strong moto, with Nathan Crawford (MEGA Fuels Monster Energy Kawasaki) completing the top three. In fourth was a consistent ride from Todd Waters (Crankt Protein Honda Racing), with teammate Luke Clout fending off Kirk Gibbs (KTM Motocross Racing Team) for position in fifth. Then came Luke Styke (KTM Motocross Racing Team), Brett Metcalfe (MEGA Fuels Monster Energy Kawasaki) who charged through from the rear of the field, Kyle Peters (Wilson Coolair Motul Suzuki) and Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsports KTM) rounding out the top 10.

1. Dean Ferris
2. Kade Mosig
3. Nathan Crawford
4. Todd Waters
5. Luke Clout
6. Kirk Gibbs
7. Luke Styke
8. Brett Metcalfe
9. Kyle Peters
10. Hamish Harwood
11. Lachlan Davis
12. Dylan Long
13. Joel Green
14. Brodie Sims
15. James Alen
16. Zak Small
17. Charlie Creech
18. Mitchell Bowen
19. Izak Maule
20. Jesse Bishop

Motul MX2 moto two:
Capping off a perfect weekend second time out was Mastin, getting the hole-shot and then controlling the moto from there. Behind him, YZ250F-mounted duo Todd and Evans surged forward in the closing laps, but it was a 1.510s buffer as he crossed the line. A distant fourth was Harwood in another strong showing from the Kiwi, getting the better of Rykers for position, while Webster recovered from a couple of errors for P6. Seventh was Richie Evans, beating Wills and Wilson after both crashed during the moto, with Connor Tierney (Team WBR Bulk Nutrients Yamaha) 10th. Overall Mastin, Todd and Evans were on the podium, while in the championship Todd now leads by 13 from Mastin, with Evans one more back in third.

1. Egan Mastin
2. Wilson Todd
3. Mitchell Evans
4. Hamish Harwood
5. Jayden Rykers
6. Kyle Webster
7. Richie Evans
8. Dylan Wills
9. Jay Wilson
10. Connor Tierney
11. Lochie Latimer
12. Joel Evans
13. Jarrod Kelly
14. Jayden Conforto
15. Zhane Dunlop
16. Lachlan Wilson
17. Glen Segeri
18. Darcy Cavanagh
19. Trae Kuehn
20. Brandon Gray

Thor MX1 moto two:
The race was almost over before it even began for some in moto two, as the likes of Mosig, Gibbs and Crawford all went down in the opening section of turns. Out front it was ever-impressive rookie Clout who led the way, until Ferris struck and took charge at the head of the pack. The runaway points leader went on to win by 2.085s from Waters and Metcalfe, who put on a show for the runner-up place until the latter made a late mistake, while Clout eventually crossed the line in P4. Fifth was a strong way to rebound for Gibbs, although still disappointing, with Styke, Dylan Long (CDR Yamaha), Crawford, Peters and Mosig completing the top 10. On the podium it was a perfect Ferris who stood in the middle, joined by Honda teammates Waters and Clout. In terms of the championship it’s Ferris who leads by 75 over Gibbs, with Mosig a further 51 in arrears with two rounds remaining.

1. Dean Ferris
2. Todd Waters
3. Brett Metcalfe
4. Luke Clout
5. Kirk Gibbs
6. Luke Styke
7. Dylan Long
8. Nathan Crawford
9. Kyle Peters
10. Kade Mosig
11. Lachlan Davis
12. Joel Green
13. Hamish Harwood
14. Brodie Sims
15. James Alen
16. Izak Maule
17. Zak Small
18. Charlie Creech
19. Jesse Bishop
20. Mathew McEntee