News 30 Jul 2017

Musquin races to second-consecutive victory at Washougal

Kawasaki's Savatgy tops 250MX in tight overall points.

Source: Supplied.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Marvin Musquin has raced to his second overall victory in as many weeks at Washougal’s ninth round of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship, as Joey Savatgy (Pro Circuit Monster Energy Kawasaki) took the top spot in the 250MX category.

The Frenchman strung together perfect 1-1 results to comfortably take the win over series leader Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki), who pieced together a pair of second place finishes to lead the championship by 32 points.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory racing’s Martin Davalos secured his maiden premier class podium, racing to 4-3 moto results to place him on the box. Honda HRC’s Cole Seely was fourth, as Blake Baggett (Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM.closed out the top in fifth.

In 250MX, Savatgy soared to his second-consecutive victory with a 7-1 scorecard. The factory Kawasaki rider made a mistake in the opening moto, however after a string less than stellar performances from the top runners, his race win in moto two awarded him the win.

Second for championship leader Zach Osborne (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) saw him extend his points lead to 74, which has now put him in a position to potentially clinch the championship at the next round.

Third was credited to Yamalube Yamaha Star Racing’s Dylan Ferrandis, as fourth went to Adam Cianciarulo (Pro Circuit Monster Energy Kawasaki), where a last lap pass in moto two denied him of not only the overall victory, but also pushed him back down to fourth for the day.

Rj Hampshire (Geico Honda) concluded the top five, tied on points ahead of race one winner Aaron Plessinger (Yamahlube Yamaha Racing), which rounded out the top six who where only separated by two points.

The Pro Motocross championship will have a weekend off before returning at Unadilla on 12 August for the 10th stop of the 12-round series.