News 30 Jul 2017

Mastin records perfect day at Port Macquarie's MX Nationals

Yamaha's Dyce crowned 2017 MXD champion.

Image: MXN.

Davey Motorsports KTM’s Egan Mastin has closed in on the MX2 championship leader Wilson Todd (DPH Motorsport Yamaha) after stringing together two moto victories at today’s eighth round of the 2017 Motul MX Nationals in Port Macquarie, New South Wales.

The opening MX2 moto of the round saw Mastin make his way through to victory, taking charge from early leader Todd on lap nine and riding away to a 8.969s advantage from there.

Todd comfortably held onto second, keeping pole-setter Kyle Webster (Penrite CRF Honda Racing) at bay, with Mitch Evans (Serco Yamaha) and Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsports KTM) completing the top five.

Sixth was Raceline Pirelli KTM’s Jayden Rykers, with positions seven through 10 being held by Dylan Wills (KSF Racing Husqvarna), Richie Evans (Yamaha), Tomas Ravenhorst (Yamaha) and Jay Wilson (Raceline Pirelli KTM), who went down while in P2 on the opening lap and had to come back from 17th at the end of lap one.

Capping off a perfect weekend second time out was Mastin, getting the hole-shot and then controlling the moto from there. Behind him, YZ250F-mounted duo Todd and Evans surged forward in the closing laps, but it was a 1.510s buffer as he crossed the line.

A distant fourth was Harwood in another strong showing from the Kiwi, getting the better of Rykers for position, while Webster recovered from a couple of errors for P6. Seventh was Richie Evans, beating Wills and Wilson after both crashed during the moto, with Connor Tierney (Team WBR Bulk Nutrients Yamaha) 10th.

Overall Mastin, Todd and Evans were on the podium, while in the championship Todd now leads by 13 from Mastin, with Evans one more back in third.

In MXD, Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s Cody Dyce was crowned the 2017 champion with a moto to spare, as temmate Cooper Pozniak returned to the winners circle.

Pozniak’s pair of second place finishes placed him one point ahead of KTM-mounted Callum Norton, who concluded the MXD series with a race win to his name. Third was SD3 Husqvarna rider and race one victor Kaleb Barham, followed by Hugh McKay (WBR Bulk Nutrients Yamaha) and Riley Dukes (Husqvarna) in fourth and fifth respectively.

Sixth through to 10th was completed by Alex Watt (Husqvarna), Dyce, Dylan Wood (Kawasaki), Brodie Ellis (Yamaha) and Morgan Fogarty. Championship contender Jy Roberts crashed out of the opening moto, ending his hopes of claiming the title, although he was still safe for second in the standings.

The New South Wales venue also hosted the final round of the 125cc Gold Cup, which was taken out by Husqvarna-mounted Cody Mackie with another perfect 1-1 day. Former Australian champion Cameron Taylor (Yamaha) was second, followed by KTM’s Kerrod Morrissy in third.

The top three in the three-round championship was a repeat of the day’s results with Mackie securing a perfect season ahead of Taylor and Morrissy.

The next round of the Motul MX Nationals will host the MX1, MX2 and Amateur Cup classes, scheduled to take place at Toowoomba in Queensland, on 13 August.