News 30 Jul 2017

Ferris strengthens championship lead with Port Macquarie win

Waters and Clout complete premier class podium in New South Wales.

Image: MXN.

CDR Yamaha’s Dean Ferris has edged closer to defending his MX1 title after lodging a perfect 1-1 scorecard at today’s eighth stop of the 2017 Motul MX Nationals series in Port Macquarie, New South Wales.

After topping the GoPro Super Pole this morning, defending champion Ferris dominated the opening moto, edging ahead of hole-shot winner Kade Mosig (DPH Motorsport Yamaha) and then maintaining his lead from there for a 8.022s victory.

Mosig remained second from there for a strong moto, with Nathan Crawford (MEGA Fuels Monster Energy Kawasaki) completing the top three. In fourth was a consistent ride from Todd Waters (Crankt Protein Honda Racing), with teammate Luke Clout fending off Kirk Gibbs (KTM Motocross Racing Team) for position in fifth.

Then came Luke Styke (KTM Motocross Racing Team), Brett Metcalfe (MEGA Fuels Monster Energy Kawasaki) who charged through from the rear of the field, Kyle Peters (Wilson Coolair Motul Suzuki) and Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsports KTM) rounding out the top 10.

The race was almost over before it even began for some in moto two, as the likes of Mosig, Gibbs and Crawford all went down in the opening section of turns. Out front it was ever-impressive rookie Clout who led the way, until Ferris struck and took charge at the head of the pack.

The runaway points leader went on to win by 2.085s from Waters and Metcalfe, who put on a show for the runner-up place until the latter made a late mistake, while Clout eventually crossed the line in P4.

Fifth was a strong way to rebound for Gibbs, although still disappointing, with Styke, Dylan Long (CDR Yamaha), Crawford, Peters and Mosig completing the top 10.

On the podium it was a perfect Ferris who stood in the middle, joined by Honda teammates Waters and Clout. In terms of the championship it’s Ferris who leads by 75 over Gibbs, with Mosig a further 51 in arrears with two rounds remaining.

The next round on the Motul MX Nationals calendar is scheduled for 13 August, at Toowoomba in Queensland, marking the penultimate round of the series.