News 23 Jul 2017

KTM's Musquin sweeps Millville's Pro Motocross national

Savatgy claims 250MX overall win at Spring Creek.

Source: Supplied.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Marvin Musquin has raced to a clean sweep at this weekend’s eighth round of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship in Millville, Minnesota, While Joey Savatgy (Pro Circuit Monster Energy Kawasaki) broke through for his second victory of the season in 250MX.

Musquin lodged a commanding 1-1 scorecard, marking his career first sweep in the premier class. The Frenchman dominated the opening moto from start to finish, as race two saw him fight for the top spot in the opening stages of the race.

After claiming his best premier class finish at the previous round, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Dean Wilson topped the result with a pair thirds, crediting the number 15 second overall.

Rounding out the podium was series leader Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki), who captured second in the first outing, before a crash in race two forced him to settle for fifth.

Tomac continues to lead the championship by 20 points, as the top five was rounded out by Blake Baggett (Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM) and Cooper Webb (Monster Energy/Yamalube/Chaparral/Yamaha Financial Services/Yamaha Racing).

In the 250MX class, Savatgy recorded 1-2 results to capture the overall, dominating the first moto and leading much of race two before relinquishing the lead to Zach Osborne (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) with just five minutes remaining.

Troy Lee Designs/Red Bull/KTM’s Alex Martin was second with 2-4 finishes, as Osborne rounded out the top three in third. The Husqvarna rider maintains control of the quarter-litre category with a 43-point advantage.

Jeremy Martin (GEICO Honda) Adam Cianciarulo (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) were fourth and fifth respectively. The next stop of the series is scheduled for 29 July, at the picturesque Washougal venue.