News 16 Jul 2017

Racefeed: 2017 MX Nationals Rd7 Shepparton

Pro class updates direct from round seven in Victoria.

Post-race updates from the MX1 and MX2 classes at round seven of the 2017 Motul MX Nationals, direct from Shepparton in Victoria.

Image: MXN.

Motul MX2 moto one:
Serco Yamaha’s Mitch Evans claimed victory in the opening MX2 moto of the round, hounding Egan Mastin (Davey Motorsports KTM) for the first part of the moto before taking over at the front on lap seven. Evans inched away from there for a 9.120s victory ahead of title rival Wilson Todd (DPH Motorsport Yamaha) after he worked his way from outside the top 10 – the pair now separated by two points in the standings – and Kyle Webster (Penrite CRF Honda Racing) in third. Pole-setter Mastin finally crossed the line in fourth at race’s end ahead of Jayden Rykers (Raceline Pirelli KTM), as standout privateer Richie Evans (Yamaha), Dylan Wills (KSF Racing Husqvarna), Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsports KTM), Jackson Richardson (Serco Yamaha) and Ricky Latimer (Yamaha) filled the top 10.

1. Mitchell Evans
2. Wilson Todd
3. Kyle Webster
4. Egan Mastin
5. Jayden Rykers
6. Richie Evans
7. Dylan Wills
8. Hamish Harwood
9. Jackson Richardson
10. Ricky Latimer
11. Jay Wilson
12. Tomas Ravenhorst
13. Connor Tierney
14. Lochie Latimer
15. Joel Evans
16. Jarrod Kelly
17. Calib Best
18. James Brown
19. Jayden Conforto
20. Brandon Gray

Thor MX1 moto one:
A controlled opening MX1 moto from KTM Motocross Racing Team’s Kirk Gibbs saw him capture the win, taking charge on lap 10 and going on to win by 3.226s. It was initially a charging Kade Mosig (DPH Motorsport Yamaha) who led the way until Gibbs hit the front, while a mistake from defending champion Dean Ferris (CDR Yamaha) as he challenged for the lead on lap six put him out of contention for victory. Gibbs won the moto ahead of Mosig, who in turn managed to hold off a fast-finishing Brett Metcalfe (MEGA Fuels Monster Energy Kawasaki) and American Kyle Peters (Wilson Coolair Motul Suzuki). Crankt Protein Honda Racing’s Todd Waters claimed fifth, followed by Nathan Crawford (MEGA Fuels Monster Energy Kawasaki), Ferris, Luke Styke (KTM Motocross Racing Team), Luke Clout (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) – who was as high as fourth before going down – and Joel Green (KTM).

1. Kirk Gibbs
2. Kade Mosig
3. Brett Metcalfe
4. Kyle Peters
5. Todd Waters
6. Nathan Crawford
7. Dean Ferris
8. Luke Styke
9. Luke Clout
10. Joel Green
11. Dylan Long
12. Lachlan Davis
13. James Alen
14. Keiron Hall
15. Izak Maule
16. Charlie Creech
17. Daniel Banks
18. Cory Watts
19. Brodie Sims
20. James Jafer

Motul MX2 moto two:
After leading the early laps of MX2 moto two Mastin went back to third, but eventually crossed the line in the lead for the race win. Runner-up was Todd, who was second on the opening lap and moved into the lead by lap five, but dropped back to P2 with a mistake on lap 10. Third in the moto was Webster in another inspired ride ahead of Rykers and Evans, who made an error of his own in the mid-stages. Behind him was his brother Richie Evans, with the top 10 filled by Wills, Harwood, Jay Wilson (Raceline Pirelli KTM) and Latimer. Richardson was in contention for the podium until he crashed out on lap eight – an update to come. Overall for the round consistency paid off for Todd as his 2-2 got him the overall by a point from Mastin and a further two ahead of Evans. In terms of the championship, Todd now leads by eight ahead of Evans, with Mastin in third as three rounds remain.

1. Egan Mastin
2. Wilson Todd
3. Kyle Webster
4. Jayden Rykers
5. Mitchell Evans
6. Richie Evans
7. Dylan Wills
8. Hamish Harwood
9. Jay Wilson
10. Ricky Latimer
11. Tomas Ravenhorst
12. Connor Tierney
13. Lochie Latimer
14. James Brown
15. Jarrod Kelly
16. Joel Evans
17. Jayden Conforto
18. Glen Segeri
19. Calib Best
20. Levi McManus

Thor MX1 moto two:
After a frustrating opening moto, Ferris managed to redeem himself second time out and dominated to win by 5.667s, working his way into the lead by the end of lap two and he was never headed. Behind him it was an entertaining battle for position eventually topped by Gibbs, getting the better of a race-long fight with Waters and Metcalfe – the trio finishing in that order. Top rookie Crawford was a lonely fifth from a fast-starting Clout, with Styke, Peters, Mosig and Dylan Long (CDR Yamaha) rounding out the top 10. It was Mosig who led lap one, but suffered from varying difficulties during the moto. Overall for the round that put Gibbs on top for the first time this year, with Ferris able to salvage second and Metcalfe completing the podium in P3. The championship now sees Ferris lead Gibbs by 54 points, with Mosig remaining third.

1. Dean Ferris
2. Kirk Gibbs
3. Todd Waters
4. Brett Metcalfe
5. Nathan Crawford
6. Luke Clout
7. Luke Styke
8. Kyle Peters
9. Kade Mosig
10. Dylan Long
11. Joel Green
12. James Alen
13. Lachlan Davis
14. Izak Maule
15. Daniel Banks
16. Brodie Sims
17. Charlie Creech
18. James Jafer
19. Cory Watts
20. Nic Frayne