News 16 Jul 2017

KTM's Gibbs breaks through for season-first victory at Shepparton

Ferris and Metcalfe complete the podium in Victoria.

Image: MXN.

KTM Motocross Racing Team’s Kirk Gibbs became the first rider to break Dean Ferris’ six-round winning streak, claiming the overall victory during today’s seventh stop of the Motul MX Nationals series at Shepparton in Victoria.

It was initially a charging Kade Mosig (DPH Motorsport Yamaha) who led the way in moto one until Gibbs hit the front, while a mistake from defending champion Ferris as he challenged for the lead on lap six put him out of contention for victory.

Gibbs won the moto 3.226s ahead of Mosig, who in turn managed to hold off a fast-finishing Brett Metcalfe (MEGA Fuels Monster Energy Kawasaki) and American Kyle Peters (Wilson Coolair Motul Suzuki).

Crankt Protein Honda Racing’s Todd Waters claimed fifth, followed by Nathan Crawford (MEGA Fuels Monster Energy Kawasaki), Ferris, Luke Styke (KTM Motocross Racing Team), Luke Clout (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) – who was as high as fourth before going down – and Joel Green (KTM).

After a frustrating opening moto, Ferris managed to redeem himself second time out and dominated to win by 5.667s, working his way into the lead by the end of lap two and he was never headed. Behind him it was an entertaining battle for position eventually topped by Gibbs, getting the better of a race-long fight with Waters and Metcalfe – the trio finishing in that order.

Top rookie Crawford was a lonely fifth from a fast-starting Clout, with Styke, Peters, Mosig and Dylan Long (CDR Yamaha) rounding out the top 10. It was Mosig who led lap one, but suffered from varying difficulties during the moto.

Overall for the round that put Gibbs on top for the first time this year, with Ferris able to salvage second and Metcalfe completing the podium in P3. The championship now sees Ferris lead Gibbs by 54 points, with Mosig remaining third.

The Motul MX Nationals will now head to New South Wales, with Port Macquarie scheduled to host the eighth round of the series on 30 July.