News 2 Jul 2017

Ferris extends winning streak to six at Nowra's MX Nationals

Mastin edges out Richardson for the MX2 overall victory.

Image: Marc Jones.

CDR Yamaha’s Dean Ferris has continued his dominant charge in the 2017 Motul MX Nationals, claiming his sixth-consecutive victory at Nowra’s sixth round of the prestigious series in New South Wales today.

Crankt Protein Honda Racing’s Todd Waters captured Super Pole with a time of 1m42.718s, but it was reigning MX1 champion and red plate holder Ferris who put in another flawless performance to open the round.

The Yamaha rider was victorious by 15.149s ahead of Brett Metcalfe (MEGA Bulk Fuels Monster Energy Kawasaki) in his first appearance on the KX450F locally, who surged from 15th to fulfil the runner-up spot.

Kirk Gibbs (KTM Motocross Racing Team) completed the top three, with rookies Luke Clout (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) and Nathan Crawford (MEGA Bulk Fuels Monster Energy Kawasaki) rounding out the top five.

The second of the premier class motos began with Crawford leading the early laps, however by lap five Ferris had made his way to the front from as far back as fifth and he sprinted away to a 12.321s victory from there.

For the second time in as many motos, Metcalfe climbed to second following a lap two error, with Kade Mosig (DPH Motorsport Yamaha) putting forward a solid result for P3.

In fourth came Gibbs, another to fight his way up to position, while fifth marked a consistent effort for Clout. With Ferris sweeping the day, the overall top five was completed by Metcalfe, Gibbs, Clout and Crawford.

The opening MX2 moto of the round was controlled by Egan Mastin (Davey Motorsports KTM) from his pole position set in qualifying, leading every lap and winning ahead of Jayden Rykers (Raceline Pirelli KTM) by 3.755s and Serco Yamaha’s Jackson Richardson, who worked his way up the order from as far back as 10th on the opening lap.

Championship leader Wilson Todd (DPH Motorsport Yamaha) crossed the line fourth, as a fast-starting Richie Evans (Yamaha) edged out Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsports KTM) for P5.

In race two, Richardson was able to move into the lead by lap eight and took off to a 13.911s victory from there on his Serco Yamaha YZ250F. Early leader Mastin wound up second, suffering the effects of a flu this weekend, while in third was Mitch Evans in an improved showing, followed closely by Webster.

It was a stronger second outing for Wilson as he crossed the line fifth after running inside the top three for much of the moto. As Mastin secured the overall, Richardson fell short of the number one spot ahead of Rykers, while Mitch Evans and Webster were fourth and fifth respectively.

In the MXD category, Victoria’s Callum Norton (KTM) broke through to take victory over Hugh McKay (WBR Bulk Nutrients Yamaha), piloting his KTM 250 SX-F to a 3-3 scorecard.

Queensland’s Isaac Ferguson (KTM) was third, as the top five was round out by Maximus Purvis (Yamaha) and points leader Jy Roberts (Husqvarna).