News 26 Jun 2017

Milner captures dual Outright victories at Renmark AORC

Factory KTM newcomer continues strong return Australian season.

Image: John Pearson.

It was a successful weekend for KTM Enduro Racing Team’s Daniel Milner as he claimed the Outright victories at Renmark’s fifth and sixth rounds of the 2017 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) in South Australia.

Saturday’s round five saw Snap Fitness Yamaha Team’s Scott Keegan capture the E1 category win with a time of 44m26.686s ahead of Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Racing Team’s Wil Ruprecht in second, Tom Jones in third, Baylee Davies in fourth and Rick Ireland in fifth.

In the E2 category it was Outright winner Milner who took top honours with a fast time of 43m46.913s over Riley Graham in second, Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Racing Team’s Josh Green in third, Stefan Granquist in fourth and Broc Grabham in fifth.

Milner’s teammate Lyndon Snodgrass delivered in the E3 category with the round win aboard his two-stroke entry. The factor KTM newcomer took the win with a time of 44m25.857s ahead of Lachlan Stanford, Jesse Lawton, Tom Mason and Lincoln Bird.

Sunday’s sprint round saw Ruprecht rise to the occasion to take out the E1 win over round five winner Keegan, the Yamaha-backed racer used a time of 36m55.387s to edge out Keegan in second with Jones taking out third followed by Davies and Ireland to round out the top five.

Once again it was Milner in the E2 category who landed himself on the top spot for round six as he also earned first-place Outright honours to make it a perfect weekend of racing.

Taking the victory using a time of 34m59.550s, Milner again topped Graham for the top spot with Green taking the final podium spot in third ahead of Andrew Wilksch and Granquist.

In the E3 category Snodgrass again stole the top spot away from Husqvarna’s Stanford with a winning time of 35m12.698s to make it a clean sweep for the weekend with Mason landing third spot followed by Joel James and Troy Sheridan.

The 2017 AORC series will next head to Kyogle in New South Wales for rounds seven and eight on 22-23 July.