News 12 Jun 2017

Desalle does it again with Russian MXGP victory

Jonass extends MX2 advantage as Lawrence claims sixth.

Source: Supplied.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Clement Desalle has made it back-to-back victories in the MXGP World Championship after storming to a second overall of the season in Russia.

After finishing third in the opening mud-soaked encounter behind Jeffrey Herlings (Red Bull KTM) and Antonio Cairoli (Red Bull KTM), Desalle won moto two and the round.

Finishing runner-up for the weekend was premier class newcomer Herlings, who after his first race win was P8 in moto two, while a 5-3 scorecard placed Gautier Paulin (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) third overall.

World championship leader Cairoli had to settle for fifth overall after carding ninth in the second affair, now 47 points ahead of the in-form Desalle.

In MX2, Red Bull KTM’s Pauls Jonass went 2-3 for the overall round victory, ahead of second moto winner Jeremy Seewer (Team Suzuki) and Brian Boogers (HSF Logistics Motorsport KTM). Race one winner Thomas Kjer Olsen (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) was a non-finisher in the second, while Aussie Hunter Lawrence (Team Suzuki) claimed sixth overall with a 4-11 scorecard.

The EMX250 round overall belonged to Yamaha SM Action’s Simone Furlotti ahead of Mathys Boisra (Honda Redmoto) and Dylan Walsh (Carglass Honda Racing), while his teammate Jed Beaton was 13th after rebounding for fourth place in moto two.