News 5 Jun 2017

KTM’s Gibbs charges to third Manjimup 15,000 title

Factory KTM guest Mastin claims runner-up position.

Image: Jeremy Hammer.

KTM Motocross Racing Team’s Kirk Gibbs raced to his third Shannons Insurance Manjimup 15,000 title at the picturesque Cosy Creek circuit in Western Australia’s southwest region.

Gibbs, who suffered a heavy crash during the final stages of the knockout-style shootout, lodged a stellar 1-1-1-4 scorecard, although he was evidently hurting following the midday incident.

The South Australian maintained his composure in the trying conditions despite multiple challenges from the highly competitive Allstars class.

Egan Mastin (KTM Motocross Racing Team) impressed in a guest appearance with the factory KTM outfit, earning second overall with a convincing race win to his name in the final moto.

The youthful talent led the opening portion of race two after overcoming Gibbs, however a crash relegated him down the order.

Kyle Webster (Penrite CRF Honda Racing) concluded the podium in front of a home crowd, edging out Luke Styke (KTM Motocross Racing Team) and shootout victor Cody Cooper (Honda), who finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Crankt Protein Honda Racing’s Todd Waters had a day to forget, recording two non-finishes due to mechanical issues, while majority of the international contingent struggled to come to terms with the challenging and demanding circuit.

Shannon’s Insurance Manjimup 15,000 Allstars overall results:
1. Kirk Gibbs
2. Egan Mastin
3. Kyle Webster
4. Luke Styke
5. Cody Cooper
6. Michael Mahon
7. Dean Porter
8. Connor Tierney
9. AJ Catanzaro
10. Julian Cutajar