News 7 May 2017

Racefeed: 2017 MX Nationals Rd3 Conondale

Pro class updates direct from round three in Queensland.

Post-race updates from the MX1 and MX2 classes at round three of the 2017 Motul MX Nationals, direct from Conondale in Queensland.

Image: MXN.

First up this morning was the MX2 qualifier, where Serco Yamaha duo Jackson Richardson and Mitch Evans revelled in prime conditions to go 1-2, while red plate-holder Wilson Todd was third, Aaron Tanti fourth and Egan Mastin fifth. Next up was MXD with Cooper Pozniak leading the way from Isaac Ferguson, Hugh McKay, Cody Dyce and Kaleb Barham, before finally, in the premier MX1 class Dean Ferris took his third Super Pole in succession this year over Aleksandr Tonkov, Kirk Gibbs – who was quickest in regular qualifying – Todd Waters and rookie Luke Clout.

Motul MX2 moto one:
A gritty ride from Queensland rookie Mitch Evans saw him charge to a third-straight moto win this morning in Queensland, taking the lead from teammate and longtime leader Jackson Richardson in the closing laps of the moto for a Serco Yamaha 1-2, while Wilson Todd (DPH Motorsport Yamaha) completed the opening race podium of the weekend. An inspired ride from Aaron Tanti (WBR Bulk Nutrients Yamaha) saw him finish P4 as YZ250Fs filled the first four places, with Kyle Webster (Penrite CRF Honda Racing) crossing the line fifth. Positions sixth through 10th were filled by Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsports KTM), his teammate Egan Mastin, Jayden Rykers (Raceline Pirelli KTM), a fast-starting Richie Evans (Yamaha) and Dylan Wills (Synep Racing Husqvarna).

1. Mitchell Evans
2. Jackson Richardson
3. Wilson Todd
4. Aaron Tanti
5. Kyle Webster
6. Hamish Harwood
7. Egan Mastin
8. Jayden Rykers
9. Richie Evans
10. Dylan Wills
11. Wade Kirkland
12. Tomas Ravenhorst
13. Joel Evans
14. Nick Sutherland
15. Jesse McNally
16. Bailey Coxon
17. Ricky Latimer
18. Jarrod Kelly
19. Calib Best
20. Jayden Conforto

Thor MX1 moto one:
CDR Yamaha’s Dean Ferris dominated the opening moto at Conondale, taking charge from hole-shotter Aleksandr Tonkov (MEGA Bulk Fuels Monster Energy Kawasaki) early on in the moto and then sprinting away from there to his fourth moto win in five races this year. Behind him at moto’s end was Kirk Gibbs (KTM Motocross Racing Team) and Todd Waters (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) to fill the top three, trailed by Kade Mosig (DPH Motorsport Yamaha) and Brett Metcalfe (SD3 Husqvarna) as he came from outside of the top 10. Sixth was a solid ride by Jesse Dobson (Penrite Honda) in his first appearance of the year, overcoming Luke Styke (KTM Motocross Racing Team) and Luke Clout (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) for position. P9 came Nathan Crawford (MEGA Bulk Fuels Monster Energy Kawasaki) and 10th was Keiron Hall (Synep Racing Husqvarna), then behind him was Kyle Peters (Wilson Coolair Motul Suzuki) from the rear of the field following an early error. Meanwhile, Tonkov dropped all the way down to 14th after leading lap one.

1. Dean Ferris
2. Kirk Gibbs
3. Todd Waters
4. Kade Mosig
5. Brett Metcalfe
6. Jesse Dobson
7. Luke Styke
8. Luke Clout
9. Nathan Crawford
10. Keiron Hall
11. Kyle Peters
12. Zak Small
13. Joel Green
14. Aleksandr Tonkov
15. Lachlan Davis
16. James Alen
17. Darcy Jones
18. Hamish Harwood
19. Izak Maule
20. Mathew Torrington

Motul MX2 moto two:
A last lap pass saw Evans make it two from two for the round and extend his race winning-streak to four, taking charge of the red plate as a result. Once again Richardson led much of the moto before coming under fire from Evans in the final stages, making his move in the final moments for another hard-fought Serco Yamaha 1-2 result. Crossing the line third was Mastin, who was ahead of Todd and Webster, as he mirrored his opening moto result. Rykers ended up sixth as he fended off Wills for position, with Richie Evans, Harwood and Ricky Latimer (Yamaha) rounding out the top 10. Finishing 11th, despite a flat tyre in the moto was the again impressive Tanti, although the result didn’t reflect his form in the moto. Overall for the round Evans had a perfect scorecard for victory, joined on the podium by Richardson and Todd. Evans now holds a nine-point lead in the standings over Todd, with Richardson a further nine in arrears.

1. Mitchell Evans
2. Jackson Richardson
3. Egan Mastin
4. Wilson Todd
5. Kyle Webster
6. Jayden Rykers
7. Dylan Wills
8. Richie Evans
9. Hamish Harwood
10. Ricky Latimer
11. Aaron Tanti
12. Joel Evans
13. Jesse McNally
14. Bailey Coxon
15. Jarrod Kelly
16. Wade Kirkland
17. Tomas Ravenhorst
18. Nick Sutherland
19. Darren Schenk
20. Cohen Chase

Thor MX1 moto two:
Another commanding performance saw defending national MX1 champion Ferris edge his way to another impressive victory this afternoon and maintain his perfect overall status for the 2017 season to date, winning five from six motos so far. He jumped out front early on his factory-backed YZ450F and was never headed from there, crossing the stripe around 15 seconds clear of second-placed Gibbs in another memorable result, while rookie standout Crawford recovered for a brilliant third this time around. Behind them in P4 came Waters, who in turn managed to keep Styke and Dobson at bay, while Mosig, Clout, Tonkov and Peters were the top 10. Overall for the round Ferris was untouched with Super Pole and a pair of wins, joined on the podium by Gibbs and Waters. It’s Ferris, Gibbs and Mosig atop the standings, however Ferris has already built a 31-point advantage just three rounds into the season.

1. Dean Ferris
2. Kirk Gibbs
3. Nathan Crawford
4. Todd Waters
5. Luke Styke
6. Jesse Dobson
7. Kade Mosig
8. Luke Clout
9. Aleksandr Tonkov
10. Kyle Peters
11. Zak Small
12. Keiron Hall
13. Lachlan Davis
14. Joel Green
15. James Alen
16. Rory McKercher
17. Hamish Harwood
18. Izak Maule
19. Daniel Banks
20. Darcy Jones