News 27 Apr 2017

Australians selected for 2017 Junior Motocross World Championship

Capable mixture of youthful talent announced for Estonia.

Source: Supplied.

Australia’s team to contest the 2017 Junior Motocross World Championship in Estonia on 30 July has been announced by Motorcycling Australia (MA).

Representing Australia in the 125cc will be Mason Semmens and 2012 65cc world champion Caleb Grothues, while in the 85cc it will be 2014 65cc title-winner Jett Lawrence, Alex Larwood and Cody Chittick.

Australia will also send a team for the 65cc Junior Motocross World Cup category, which will go toward the national team’s world championship tally during the event. Australia will enter Jett Alsop and Kayden Minear.

“We have seen a solid amount of riders that have represented Australia at these events over the years who have received excellent opportunities both at home and abroad, partly, if not mostly, due to their achievements at the Junior Motocross World Championship,” said Team Australia manager Mark Willingham.

“I feel that we are in a really good place this year, as we are able to have a mixture of riders based here in Australia and based in Europe. It’s definitely important to make sure junior riders from Australia are able to represent their country well, while also learning all they can from the experience.”