News 23 Apr 2017

Racefeed: 2017 MX Nationals Rd2 Appin

Pro class updates direct from round two in New South Wales.

Post-race updates from the MX1 and MX2 classes at round two of the 2017 Motul MX Nationals, direct from Appin in New South Wales.

Image: MXN.

Warm weather greeted riders this morning at the Macarthur Motorcycle Club and in MX2 it was Wilson Todd who took pole over Mitch Evans, Jackson Richardson, Dylan Wills and Hamish Harwood. The MX1 Super Pole saw Dean Ferris add to his tally ahead of Kirk Gibbs, Kyle Peters, Nathan Crawford and Brett Metcalfe. Todd Waters in P6 made it six different manufacturers in the top positions!

Motul MX2 moto one:
The opening MX2 moto of the day belonged to class newcomer Mitch Evans (Serco Yamaha) for the first time, comfortably winning by near 10 seconds ahead of Egan Mastin (Davey Motorsports KTM) and points leader Wilson Todd (DPH Motorsport Yamaha). In fourth came Jackson Richardson (Serco Yamaha), with one of the closer battles of the moto saw Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsports KTM) edge out Kyle Webster for P5. The top 10 was completed by Richie Evans (Yamaha), Ricky Latimer (Yamaha), Dylan Wills (Synep Husqvarna) and Joel Evans (Yamaha).

1. Mitch Evans
2. Egan Mastin
3. Wilson Todd
4. Jackson Richardson
5. Hamish Harwood
6. Kyle Webster
7. Richie Evans
8. Ricky Latimer
9. Dylan Wills
10. Joel Evans
11. Bailey Coxon
12. Jayden Rykers
13. Aaron Tanti
14. Jesse McNally
15. Calib Best
16. Levi McManus
17. Jarrod Kelly
18. Jake Salems
19. Jayden Conforto
20. Lachlan Wilson

Thor MX1 moto one:
The first MX1 victory was a hard-fought one for 2015 champion Kirk Gibbs (KTM Motocross Racing Team), soldiering to his first moto win of the season by around 12 seconds over defending champion Dean Ferris (CDR Yamaha). In third came Brett Metcalfe (SD3 Husqvarna), while P4 belonged to rookie Nathan Crawford (MEGA Bulk Fuels Monster Energy Kawasaki) after a consistent effort, with Kade Mosig (DPH Motorsport Yamaha) completing the top five. A late mistake saw Todd Waters (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) drop from fourth to sixth, while early leader Kyle Peters (Wilson Coolair Motul Suzuki), Luke Styke (KTM Motocross Racing Team), Luke Clout (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) and Aleksandr Tonkov (MEGA Bulk Fuels Monster Energy Kawasaki) filled the top 10. There were a lot of crashes and errors during the moto in searing heat, with patience proving the key throughout the moto.

1. Kirk Gibbs
2. Dean Ferris
3. Brett Metcalfe
4. Nathan Crawford
5. Kade Mosig
6. Todd Waters
7. Kyle Peters
8. Luke Styke
9. Luke Clout
10. Aleksandr Tonkov
11. Keiron Hall
12. Dylan Long
13. Hamish Harwood
14. Joel Green
15. Lachlan Davis
16. Corey James
17. Daniel Banks
18. Izak Maule
19. Zak Small
20. James Alen

Motul MX2 moto two:
Serco Yamaha’s Evans made it a perfect 1-1 result for the round at Appin, working his way into position and staying there in just his second MX2 start. The reigning MXD champion was too strong today at round two, finishing a couple of seconds up the track from Todd in race two, while Richardson was comfortably third. Fourth came Mastin on his 250 SX, while local Aaron Tanti (Team WBR Bulk Nutrients Yamaha) impressed in fifth. The top 10 was rounded out by Wills, Kiwi iron-man Harwood, Jayden Rykers (Raceline Pirelli KTM) from the rear, Latimer and Evans. Overall for the round Evans was the victor ahead of title-leader Todd and Mastin. Todd leads the championship by three points over Evans and another nine ahead of Mastin.

1. Mitchell Evans
2. Wilson Todd
3. Jackson Richardson
4. Egan Mastin
5. Aaron Tanti
6. Dylan Wills
7. Hamish Harwood
8. Jayden Rykers
9. Ricky Latimer
10. Richie Evans
11. Kyle Webster
12. Tomas Ravenhorst
13. Jesse McNally
14. Joel Evans
15. Jarrod Kelly
16. Bailey Coxon
17. Jake Salems
18. Calib Best
19. Jayden Conforto
20. Levi McManus

Thor MX1 moto two:
Rain started falling as the premier class bikes hit the track for the sighting lap of moto two, making for a treacherous second outing of the round. It was number one plate-holder Ferris who handled the conditions best, riding a calculated race to the win and his second overall victory in succession. Second on track was Waters, while Styke, Mosig and Metcalfe filled the top five, however it was Gibbs who starred on his way to sixth despite a crash off the start involving Clout and Peters and then another incident in the final laps. Seventh was a season-best for Tonkov, directly ahead of teammate Crawford, Clout in a decent recovery, as well as Peters to round out the top 10. Overall for the round Ferris topped Gibbs and Waters on the podium, while in the standings it’s now Ferris with a 23-point advantage over Gibbs and another two on Mosig.

1. Dean Ferris
2. Todd Waters
3. Luke Styke
4. Kade Mosig
5. Brett Metcalfe
6. Kirk Gibbs
7. Aleksandr Tonkov
8. Nathan Crawford
9. Luke Clout
10. Kyle Peters
11. Keiron Hall
12. James Alen
13. Dylan Long
14. Hamish Harwood
15. Zak Small
16. Lachlan Davis
17. Daniel Banks
18. Joel Green
19. Rory McKercher
20. Jesse Bishop