News 23 Apr 2017

Cairoli wins Valkenswaard MXGP qualifying heat

Jonass tops MX2 in another mixed day for the Aussies.

Source: Supplied.

Multiple MXGP world champion Antonio Cairoli has taken pole position for Sunday’s Valkenswaard round of the 2017 championship.

Red Bull KTM’s Cairoli took the hole-shot and was never headed during Saturday’s heat race, topping Jeremy Van Horebeek (Monster Energy Yamaha) and Gautier Paulin (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna).

The MX2 class saw Pauls Jonass (Red Bull KTM) victorious, over Thomas Kjer Olsen (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) and Julien Lieber (LRT KTM).

Of the Aussies, Hunter Lawrence (Team Suzuki) was 12th, Caleb Ward (8biano Racing Husqvarna) 21st upon return from injury and Jay Wilson (iFly JK Racing Yamaha) 35th. In the opening EMX250 affair won by Miro Sihvonen (KTM), Jed Beaton (Carglass Honda) crossed the line in 12th position on Saturday.