News 2 Apr 2017

Ferris commences MX Nationals defence with race one victory

Todd wins opening MX2 moto on debut with DPH Motorsport at Wonthaggi.

Image: Jeremy Hammer (Foremost Media).

CDR Yamaha’s Dean Ferris has had a strong start to his Motul MX Nationals title defence today in Wonthaggi, Vicotria, after claiming a hard-fought race win in moto one.

Wilson Coolair Motul Factory Suzuki’s Kyle Peters secured the holeshot while the defending MX1 champion was in tow, the pair battled it out for the entire moto until Ferris made a pass for the lead with just two laps remaining.

A mechanical just moments later would see Peters relegated to ninth, as DPH Motorsports Kade Mosig and Crankt Protein Honda Racing’s capitalized to finish second and third respectively. Kirk Gibbs (KTM Motocross Racing Team) and Brett Metcalfe (SD3 Husqvarna) rounded out the top five.

In the Motul MX2 category, Wilson Todd won race one on debut with DPH Motorsport. Todd and Serco Yamaha’s Jackson Richardson shared the lead as they exited turn one, although it was Richardson who held the advantage early on.

The pair remained within striking distance for majority of the race, with Todd making a move for the lead in the later stages to take home his first moto victory of 2017.

Synep Racing Husqvarna’s Dylan Wills slotted into third, but a mistake saw him drop down the order, allowing Raceline Pirelli KTM’s Jayden Rykers to secure the position, just ahead of Serco Yamaha’s Mitch Evans and Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsport KTM).

Yamalube Yamaha Racing teammates Cooper Pozniak and Cody Dyce finished 1-2 in the MXD class, Dyce was forced to take second after being issued a 10-second penalty. Jy Roberts (Husqvarna) concluded the podium in third, followed by Benjamin Broad (Kawasaki) and Morgan Fogarty (Honda).