News 26 Mar 2017

Cooper clinches another New Zealand Motocross Championship

Six-time MX1 national champion edges out Australian ace Ferris for title.

Image: Andy McGechan (BikesportNZ).

Honda Racing’s Cody Cooper has clinched a sixth-career MX1 class New Zealand Motocross Championship after dominating Taupo’s finals on Saturday.

Cooper, 33, made it an incredible five premier class crowns in succession by winning all three motos at round four, retaining the number one plate as a result.

After taking a one-point advantage into Taupo, Australian Dean Ferris (Altherm JCR Yamaha) had to settle for the Kiwi runner-up again, finishing sixth at the final round after registering 3-2-DNF results.

The final round saw an all-NZ podium as Cooper won the overall from Rhys Carter (Kawasaki) and Ferris’ teammate Kane Lamont (Altherm JCR Yamaha). In the championship it was Cooper over Ferris and Carter, while Aussie duo Luke Styke (KTM Motocross Racing Team) and Todd Waters (Honda) completed the top five.

In the MX2 division it was defending champion Hamish Harwood (KTM) who retained the title after winning Taupo’s final round overall with a 2-1-1 scorecard. He was crowned ahead of Dylan Walsh (Yamaha) and Ethan Martens (Yamaha).