News 23 Jan 2017

Davey Motorsports KTM confirms broad 2017 rider line-up

Returning Mastin to headline talent-packed privateer organisation.

Image: MXN.

Davey Motorsports KTM will sport an updated rider roster with increased support across the board for the 2017 Australian motocross and supercross calendar.

Following a strong 2016 Motul MX Nationals series, highlighted by Jayden Rykers’ fourth overall in the MX2 category, the Victoria-based outfit is stepping it up again for the new year according to team manager, Jason Newton.

“Obviously we’re partnered with KTM and we’ve taken that relationship further this year,” Newton told “That’s a real bonus for us and they’re providing us with more support each year as the relationship grows, which is pretty important for us.

“We’re also running an all-new semi, which is almost at the wrapping stage now. We’ve been building that for the last 12 months and it will have a few bits and pieces hanging off it that people have never seen before.”

Under the all-new transporter will be a list of riders spanning across all categories including returning MX1 contender, Daniel Banks, and New Zealand’s Hamish Harwood who will put on an ironman effort in both the MX1 and MX2 categories for 2017.

Harwood tested the waters with his back-to-back program at Coolum’s 2016 season finale with impressive results prompting him to commit to the mammoth task for a full season aboard both the 300cc and 250cc two-stroke KTM machines.

Egan Mastin will serve as the team’s sole MX2 contender aboard the KTM 250 SX for 2017, the New South Wales native again returning from the United States where he most recently contested in the 2016 Thor Winter Olympics (Mini O’s).

Mastin’s move to the team further strengthens rumours of former Davey Motorsports KTM MX2 front-runner, Rykers, making the move to the Raceline Pirelli KTM squad for 2017.

The team will also support MXD class rookies Liam Walsh and Chandler Burns, along with Courtney White-Dennis who plans to contest both the WMX series and select MX2 events throughout the season.