News 23 Nov 2016

Provisional 2017 Australian supercross calendar outlined

Jimboomba penciled in to host season opener in September.

Image: Jeremy Hammer (Foremost Media).

Image: Jeremy Hammer (Foremost Media).

A first look at the 2017 Australian Supercross Championship dates and locations has been revealed following the release of Motorcycling Australia’s (MA) provisional calendar for all disciplines.

The series appears to be hosted over six weekends with multiple promoters, an initiative MA implemented in 2015 that has proven to be successful in rebuilding Australian supercross in the past two years.

The championship is set to kick-off at Jimboomba in Queensland on 9 September, while it will conclude just over two months later in New South Wales on the same weekend that the AUS-X Open was held on this year.

The double-header finale in New South Wales suggests the series will expand to seven rounds, although that is yet to be confirmed.

Locations for Queensland’s second round, plus rounds three and five are to be announced, however they are expected to be revealed as the 2017 season approaches.

Provisional 2017 Australian Supercross Championship calendar:
9 September – Jimboomba, QLD
23 September – TBA, QLD
14 October – TBA
26 October – Adelaide, SA
4 November – TBA, VIC
11-12 November – TBA, NSW