News 13 Nov 2016

Reed takes 2016 AUS-X Open clean-sweep in Sydney

Faith wins drama-packed SX2 final as Richardson seals championship.

Image: AUS-X Open.

Image: AUS-X Open.

Australia’s Chad Reed has done the double in the AUS-X Open in Sydney to cap off the 2016 Australian Supercross Championship, leading 17 laps of the Sunday main event.

It was a confidence-inspiring ride for Reed on the dry, slick surface, holding factory Yamaha teammate Cooper Webb at bay for position to win by 1.804s this afternoon.

Third belonged to newly-crowned champion Justin Brayton (Honda Genuine Racing) after he was bumped down by Reed in the first corner, putting in a stellar ride to make his way by Ryan Villopoto (Monster Energy Kawasaki) in the closing laps.

Villopoto starred by leading the opening three laps before Reed Shannon’s Shortcut to take charge, however he was able to keep pushing throughout the 20-lap duration out of retirement.

Completing the top five was MX Nationals champion Dean Ferris (CDR Yamaha), while Kyle Peters (KTM Motocross Racing Team), the retiring Wil Hahn (National Pump Monster Energy Kawasaki), Dan Reardon (CDR Yamaha), Chris Alldredge (Crankt Honda) and Adam Enticknap (Honda Genuine Racing) rounded out the top 10.

Last night’s podium finisher Jay Marmont (MXR&D Husqvarna) crashed out of contention in the whoops, as did Jesse Dobson (KTM Motocross Racing Team) later in the race.

Image: AUS-X Open.

Image: AUS-X Open.

A dramatic second program of SX2 action in Sydney to decide the championship was dominated by American Arenacross champion Gavin Faith (Penrite Honda), however it was Jackson Richardson (Serco Yamaha) who won the title.

While Faith cleared off out from for a 16.415s victory, a championship win for longtime points leader Hayden Mellross (DPH Motorsport Yamaha) was looking a certainty until his bike stopped with just two laps remaining of the 15.

That shuffled him back to third in the points race, while a charging Richardson moved from eighth on lap one all the way to second by race’s end to claim the 2016 title by three points over Faith.

Third in the final was Western Australian domestic regular Kyle Webster (CRF Honda Racing), well ahead of an impressive Josh Cachia (Penrite Honda) and Jordan Hill (Yamalube Yamaha).

The top 10 was filled by Joel Wightman (CRF Honda Racing), Geran Stapleton (Honda), Wilson Todd (Serco Yamaha), Tomas Ravenhorst (Yamaha) and Keiron Hall (Yamaha).

This afternoon’s Monster Energy FMX Best Trick contest belonged to Tom Pages with his highly-technical bike-flip off the quarter-pipe, also winning the crowd-judged Best Whip for the second time in two attempts this weekend.