News 12 Nov 2016

Reed wins AUS-X Open night one, Brayton crowned in Sydney

Faith dominates SX2 final as championship race tightens.

Image: AUS-X Open.

Image: AUS-X Open.

Australian icon Chad Reed has won the opening night of the 2016 AUS-X Open in Sydney, as Justin Brayton clinched this year’s SX1 Australian Supercross Championship.

Yamaha-mounted Reed stalked Brayton for the lead throughout the first half of the race and seized on the opportunity of a mistake made by Brayton on lap 16 to take charge.

To the delight of the local fans, that enabled Reed to take off at the front for a 6.191s victory, from Brayton and Jay Marmont (MXR&D Husqvarna) as he fended off a final lap challenge from Cooper Webb (Yamaha).

In fifth came Kade Mosig (National Pump Monster Energy Kawasaki), holding Ryan Villopoto (Monster Energy Kawasaki) at bay, as Dan Reardon (CDR Yamaha) recovered from an early crash for seventh.

Reardon’s teammate Dean Ferris (CDR Yamaha), Todd Waters (Wilson Coolair Motul Suzuki) and Wil Hahn (National Pump Monster Energy Kawasaki) rounded out the top 10 in a frantic 20-lap final.

Image: AUS-X Open.

Image: AUS-X Open.

Penrite Honda Racing’s Gavin Faith got out front early in the SX2 main event and sprinted to a 3.769s victory at the duration of 15 laps.

Faith led home Jackson Richardson (Serco Yamaha), who had a tight battle with red plate holder Hayden Mellross (DPH Motorsport Yamaha) for the runner-up position. They would go on to finish in that order.

Mellross maintains the points lead entering tomorrow night’s final round of the championship, six points ahead of Richardson and a further six ahead of Faith.

Fourth was Nathan Crawford (Husqvarna), who ran as high as third but was passed by Mellross in the Shannon’s Shortcut early on, while Wilson Todd (Serco Yamaha) himself benefited from the shortcut to finish fifth.

Sixth was a solid result for local Aaron Tanti (BBR Yamaha), as Joel Wightman (CRF Honda Racing), Kale Makeham (Proformance Yamaha), Geran Stapleton (Honda) and Josh Cachia (Penrite Honda Racing) filled the top 10.

It was a difficult race for Raceline Pirelli KTM duo Jesse Madden and Dylan Wills, both crashing heavily and appearing to be worse for wear as the chequered flag flew.

Australia overcame USA in the feature race, while in the Monster Energy FMX Best Trick it was Clinton Moore who claimed a cool $20,000 for victory and the Best Whip was won by Tom Pages.

Day two of the 2016 AUS-X Open will take place on Sunday in Sydney’s Qudos Bank Arena, doubling as the final round of the 2016 Australian Supercross Championship.