News 7 Nov 2016

Australia vs USA feature race announced for AUS-X Open

Best whip contest also confirmed for this year's running.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Image: Jeff Crow.

AME Management has revealed a unique Australia vs USA feature race that will take place over both nights of the 2016 AUS-X Open this Saturday and Sunday inside Sydney’s Qudos Bank Arena

The event will see five riders from each country go head to head in an elimination style format over a selection of two-lap races. The bottom two riders from each team will be eliminated until only two riders are remaining.

The Australian squad will consist of Chad Reed, Daniel Reardon, Dean Ferris, Hayden Mellross and Jackson Richardson, while team USA will field Ryan Villopoto, Cooper Webb, Justin Brayton, Gavin Faith and Justin Hoeft.

In addition to the feature race, the AUS-X Open will host a best whip competition that will include a variety of supercross and FMX riders throwing down over the two nights. The victor of the contest will be awarded $1000 for each night.

Riders slated to take part in the competition include supercross athletes Cheyne Boyd, Lewis Woods, Josh Cachia and Dylan Wills, plus FMX riders Tom Pages, Clinton Moore, Jackson Strong, Levi Sherwood and Tom Robinson.

The AUS-X Open will be held in conjunction with the final two rounds of the 2016 Australian Supercross Championship, which will see this year’s champions crowned on Sunday night.

A Monster Energy FMX Best Trick contest will run alongside the international supercross race, with a selection of FMX riders set to lay it on the line to take their share of the $120,000 prize pool.