News 12 Oct 2016

Outline of 2017 MX Nationals calendar announced

Dates and states confirmed ahead of next year's season.

Image: MXN.

Image: MXN.

Williams Event Management has revealed the dates and hosting states for the 2017 Motul MX Nationals series.

The Australian championship will continue with 10 rounds following another successful year in 2016, however a revised calendar has been put in place to accomodate other major events, and to also allow adequate time for riders to commence supercross preparations following Queensland’s final round.

As per previous years, Victoria will host the opening round at the beginning of April, before heading to New South Wales and Queensland. The series will head back to Victoria and then to South Australia at the conclusion of May, which will mark the mid-season break.

The championship will return five weeks later in New South Wales, making its final stop in Victoria before revisiting New South Wales again.

Queensland will host the final two rounds, which will run on consecutive weekends. The final round will take place over 19-20 August, seeing the series conclude a week earlier than it has in the past.

Provisional 2017 MX Nationals calendar:
Rd1 – 2 April – VIC
Rd2 – 23 April – NSW
Rd3 – 7 May – QLD
Rd4 – 21 May – VIC
Rd5 – 28 May – SA
Rd6 – 2 July – NSW
Rd7 – 16 July – VIC
Rd8 – 30 July – NSW
Rd10 – 13 August – QLD
Rd10 – 19-20 August – QLD