News 4 Oct 2016

Australian junior motocross champions crowned at Renmark

Challenging week-long event concludes in South Australia.

Source: Supplied.

Source: Supplied.

Champions have been crowned at the 2016 KTM Australian Junior Motocross Championships in Renmark, South Australia, last week.

The week long event saw riders take part in five days of racing, however with severe weather conditions rolling through the region, finals action was delayed as track crews endeavoured to repair the circuit to an adequate state.

Victoria’s Taj Marshall claimed the 250cc 15 years title, making it his second consecutive Australian championship aboard the 250. A pair of second place finishes and a moto victory were enough to award him the overall, while New South Welshman Riley Dukes and fellow Victorian Cody Dyce completed the podium in second and third respectively.

Dyce would go onto wrap up the 125cc 15 years championship convincingly, going 2-1-1 over the three-moto finals format. Western Australia’s Caleb Grothues secured second with a race win next to his name, while Morgan Fogarty claimed third.

With no qualifying races, the younger age group 250cc category (13-u15 years) contested five final races over the course of the week. It was a podium dominated by KTM riders, led by Mason Semmens (Victoria), Rhys Budd (New South Wales) and Regan Duffy (Western Australia). All three riders would also finish in identical positions in the 125cc 13-u15 years class.

Queensland’s Bailey Malkiewicz (14-u16 years), Estonia’s Meiko Vettik (12-u14 years) and New South Welshman Blake Fox (9-u12 years) were awarded championships in their respective 85cc categories, while the female classes were dominated by Western Australia’s Tahlia O’Hare, who concluded the week by wrapping up both the 85cc and Lites championships.

The 65cc classes were won by Queensland’s Zachary Watson (11 years), Noah Smerdon (9-u11 years) and Western Australia’s Kayden Minear (7-u9 years), who also managed to take out the 50cc 7-u9 years category after capturing all three moto wins.